Research Resources - EC 230: Topics in Environmental Economics - Ramirez-Harrington (Spring 2023) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Find Scholarly Articles

EconLit This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly literature in economics and related fields. It includes abstracts and indexes for journal articles, books, and dissertations, including links to many of the articles.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary database of the full content of archival issues of scholarly journals. Issues published within the last 3-5 years are generally not covered. It also provides citations to books and pamphlets provided by JSTOR in digital format.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
This resource references journal and periodical articles, conference papers, and monographs in broad areas related to the environment, including but not limited to: ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution, law, policy, social and human impacts, and planning. It includes some full text and links to full text.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary compendium of databases that covers broadly: agriculture, environmental sciences, pollution, energy, ecology, air and water quality, policy issues. It includes references to journal articles, reports, books, conference proceedings and government publications. The default search screen searches across multiple databases. It contains citations with abstracts and some links to full text.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This resource provides abstracts and citations for the international literature in political science, international relations and related topics. It includes abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews as well as abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers. Coverage is from 1975 - present.

Selected Journals

Ecological Economics
The journal is concerned with extending and integrating the understanding of the interfaces and interplay between "nature's household" (ecosystems) and "humanity's household" (the economy). Ecological economics is an interdisciplinary field defined by a set of concrete problems or challenges related to governing economic activity in a way that promotes human well-being, sustainability, and justice. The journal thus emphasizes critical work that draws on and integrates elements of ecological science, economics, and the analysis of values, behaviors, cultural practices, institutional structures, and societal dynamics. The journal is transdisciplinary in spirit and methodologically open, drawing on the insights offered by a variety of intellectual traditions, and appealing to a diverse readership.
Journal of Economic Perspectives
The journal aims to publish articles that will serve several goals: to synthesize and integrate lessons learned from active lines of economic research; to provide economic analysis of public policy issues; to encourage cross-fertilization of ideas among the fields of thinking; to offer readers an accessible source for state-of-the-art economic thinking; to suggest directions for future research; to provide insights and readings for classroom use; and to address issues relating to the economics profession.
Journal of Environmental Economics and Management
The Journal of Environmental Economics and Management publishes theoretical and empirical papers devoted to specific natural resource and environmental issues. To warrant publication in JEEM papers should address new empirical findings that are of interest to a broader audience, theoretical analyses explaining new phenomena or puzzles, or development of theoretical or empirical methods likely being useful for further research.
Journal of Regulatory Economics
The Journal of Regulatory Economics serves as a high quality forum for the analysis of regulatory theories and institutions by developing rigorous foundations for the economics of regulation. It provides researchers, policymakers, and institutions with current perspectives on both theory and practice.
Review of Economics and Statistics
The Review of Economics and Statistics is a 100-year-old general journal of applied (especially quantitative) economics. Edited at the Harvard Kennedy School, the Review has published some of the most important articles in empirical economics. From time to time, the Review also publishes collections of papers or symposia devoted to a single topic of methodological or empirical interest.
Review of Environmental Economics and Policy
The Review of Environmental Economics and Policy is the official journal of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists and the European Association of Environmental and Resource Economists. REEP fills the gap between traditional academic journals and the general interest press by providing a widely accessible yet scholarly source for the latest thinking on environmental economics and related policy.
OEDC Library - Environmental Data Subset
This source provides access to Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) statistics, articles, and books related to economics and economic development.

Find A Journal

CATQuest & Interlibrary Loan

CATQuest This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to a wide variety of research materials from the UVM Libraries. Use it to locate books, articles, government publications, films, music, images, archival materials, and more.

Interlibrary Loan / Document Delivery
The library can order copies of articles we do not own through our Interlibrary Loan Service. This service is fast and free.
The library can also make copies of articles and book chapter from out print collection using our Document Delivery Service at no cost. First time users will need to set-up an account. I suggest you do this ahead of starting to search.

Data Sources

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) - Environmental Statistics
The OECD Environmental Statistics database provide a unique collection of policy-relevant environmental statistics.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Soclal Research This link opens in a new window
This resource has data holdings that encompass a range of academic disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, history, economics, international relations, gerontology, public health, criminal justice, and education. Data collections consist of raw data files and code-books. Data sets can be downloaded directly to a user's computer for use with statistical software.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
This online data and mapping application gives access to indicators about U.S. communities and markets covering demographics, employment and socioeconomic indicators, housing, crime, health, and more, at multiple geographic levels. Users can access data in interactive maps, tables, charts, and reports.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to comprehensive summary statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

The following governmental and non-governmental organizations host data that you can use to examine issues in environmental economics. Many of the sites enable downloading of datasets for further analysis.

Title:

Starts with Contains