It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The sources on this page will provide you with a basic overview of people, themes, and movements in Spanish literature worldwide as well as a small selection of encyclopedias on Spanish and Hispanic history and culture worldwide.
History of the literature of Spain from the Medieval period to the present. Essays on prose, poetry, theater, and film. Online PDFs can be downloaded for reading offline.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
Call Number: PQ 7081 .A1 E558 2004 (Reference)
This work includes short scholarly entries on Spanish, French, and Portuguese literature from the selected regions. All entries include recommendations for further reading.
The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature
Call Number: PQ 6055 .F46 2002
Two volume work on feminist aspects of literature from Spain. Short authored entries on major works, authors, and themes. Each entry includes a bibliography.
Hispanic Literature Criticism
Call Number: PQ 6039 .H5 1994 (Reference)
This encyclopedia broadly covers Hispanic literature (by authors writing in both Spanish and English) . It is organized by author and each entry includes an introduction, excerpts from critical commentaries, and a short bibliography.
Literary Cultures of Latin America: A Comparative History by Mario J. Valdes; Djelal Kadir
The three volumes in this set cover: v. 1 Configurations of literary culture -- v. 2 Institutional modes and cultural modalities -- v. 3 Latin American literary culture. Comprised of signed articles each with complete bibliographies, this reference set covers cultural traditions across a diverse range of Latin American literary history; includes related political, anthropological, economic, geographic, historical, demographic, and sociological research in order to understand the full context of each community's literature.
This peer-reviewed online encyclopedia provides authoritative background and short criticism on world literature and cultural history. The work includes authored essays, chronologies, critical bibliographies, and more. It is continuously updated.