Skip to Main Content
Journal Article Databases for the Health Sciences
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This resource provides bibliographic records, some with links to full text, for the research and professional literature in nursing and other allied health fields such as physical therapy and athletic training.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
This resource includes systematic reviews from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness. It also includes other resources such as the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
This resource broadly covers international and community-level scholarly literature in public health, including rural development and health policy. Content includes journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, newsletters, reports, and gray literature.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This free resource comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. This resource is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the scholarly literature across disciplines, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and more. It includes a cited reference search feature that enables users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work, analyzes search results by discipline, and creates citation reports of a set of search results.
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
This resource is used to find scholarly and evidence-based articles from journals in medicine, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care administration, plus allied health fields and biosciences.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This resource contains international scholarly articles in peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology, education, and the social, behavioral and health sciences. PsycINFO is the most comprehensive database for literature in the psychological sciences.
Journal Article Databases for other Disciplines
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
This resource, one of the largest business databases, contains citations and some full-text articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and newspapers (including full-text articles from the Wall Street Journal back to 1984), as well as full-text business cases, conference proceedings, and dissertations.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
This resource, created by the National Agricultural Library, provides comprehensive access to U.S. agricultural and life science information, including journal articles, books chapters, monographs, theses, patents, and technical reports. AGRICOLA covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary compendium of databases that covers broadly: agriculture, environmental sciences, pollution, energy, ecology, air and water quality, and other environmentally related topics. It includes references to journal articles, reports, books, conference proceedings and government publications. It contains citations with abstracts and some links to full text.
Biological & Agricultural Index This link opens in a new window
This resource provides comprehensive coverage to scholarly literature and popular press in the biological and agricultural sciences, including agricultural industry, environmental science, veterinary science, and wildlife management.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
This resource references journal and periodical articles, conference papers, and monographs in broad areas related to the environment, including but not limited to: ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution, law, policy, social and human impacts, and planning. It includes some full text and links to full text.
Sustainability (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
This resource, the first of JSTOR’s thematic collections, provides full text access to broadly interdisciplinary academic and open policy research on environmental sustainability and includes a wide range of journals, ebooks, and open access research reports.
All UVM Libraries Databases and Research Guides
