UVM Libraries Research Guides: Continuing Education--Research Guide for Program Developers: Consumer Information

Demographics

American factfinder: Where to Find It: On the World Wide Web; URL: http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml; Format: Free World Wide Web Site; Description: A portal to U.S. Census Bureau data on the population (demographics). Type a state, county, city, town, or zip code in the "Community Facts" box for quick access to data about people in that geographic area.
American incomes: demographics of who has money: Where to Find It: Howe Library Reference (1st Floor); Call Number: HC110.I5 R87 2009; Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.); Description: Using data and narrative, this source explores and explains the economic status of Americans, covering household income trends--including hard-to-find data about discretionary income--by many demographic characteristics. It reveals who has maintained their income and who is falling behind.

CensusScope: Where to Find It: On the World Wide Web; URL: http://www.censusscope.org/index.html; Format: Free World Wide Web Site; Description: An easy-to-use source for basic demographic data from the U.S. Census at the national, state, metro area, and county levels. Also includes rankings, maps and charts.; PolicyMap; Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site; URL: http://uvm.policymap.com/maps; Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only); Description: Use this to access and map information on U.S. communities and markets, drawing from thousands of continuously updated data points related to demographics, socioeconomics, mortgage and home sales, health, employment, crime, and more.; Sage stats; Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site; URL: http://voyager.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/purl?cat=uvmdb&id=2814439; Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only); Description: Contains over 10,000 data series for U.S. geographies in 17 research areas. Data series go as far back as 1969.; Social explorer; Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site; URL: http://voyager.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/purl?cat=uvmdb&id=2688389; Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only); Description: Allows users to create maps and reports based on current and historical data from the U.S. Census (1790-2014), and other statistical sources covering demographics, crime, health, religion, and carbon emissions. Also includes data from the United Kingdom, Canada, Europe, and the world.; Vermont economic-demographic profile; Where to Find It: On the World Wide Web; URL: http://www.vtlmi.info/profile2018.pdf; Format: Free World Wide Web Site; Description: Offers demographic, economic, industry, employment and wage data for Vermont at the county and town level. Also offers information on tax revenues, home sales, and education statistics.

Consumer Behavior and Psychographics


Baby boom: Americans born 1946 to 1964: Where to Find It: Howe Library Reference (1st Floor); Call Number: HN60. R84 2009; Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.); Description: Based largely on data collected by the federal government, this source provides data and analysis on baby boomers' attitudes, education, health, housing, income, work, living arrangements, spending, time use, wealth, and demographics.
Best customers: demographics of consumer demand: Where to Find It: Howe Library Reference (1st Floor); Call Number: HC79.C6 B45; Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.); Description: Using data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Expenditure Study, examines spending patterns by demographic characteristics of households. Covers 300 products and services and reveals which types of households spend the most.

Generation X: Americans born 1965 to 1976: Where to Find It: Howe Library Reference (1st Floor); Call Number: HC110.C6 G466 2009; Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.); Description: Presents data and narrative describing this population in 11 chapters, covering attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, time use, and wealth.


Household spending: Who spends how much on what: Where to Find It: Howe Library Reference (1st Floor); Call Number: HC110 .C6 H68; Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.); Description: Reveals how American households allocate their spending dollars, based on unpublished data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Expenditure Survey. Includes summary household spending statistics by various consumer segments as well as detailed spending statistics organized by major product and service categories.

Millennials: Americans born 1977 to 1994: Where to Find It: Howe Library Reference (1st Floor); Call Number: HQ796 .M55 2009; Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.); Description: Provides data and analysis on the "millennial" generation (age 15-32 in 2009), with chapters on attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, time use and wealth.
National consumer study: Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site; URL: http://voyager.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/purl?cat=uvmdb&id=2579710; Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only); Description: Extremely powerful and comprehensive database providing the characteristics of consumers who use various products/services and about the media that reach them. Select variables and create your own cross-tabulations, or click "Quick Reports" to more easily generate basic reports for any variable.


Older Americans: a changing market: Where to Find It: Howe Library Reference (1st Floor); Call Number: HQ1062 .U5 O4183 2009; Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.); Description: Provides data and analysis on Americans 55 and older, with 11 chapters on attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, time use and wealth.

Roper center for public opinion research: Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site; URL: http://voyager.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/purl?cat=uvmdb&id=1643792; Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only); Description: Data from the Roper Center. Click "Search Datasets" to search for poll results on topics including foreign policy, economics, education, social concerns, science, technology, health, politics, and personal beliefs.
Racial and ethnic diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites: Where to Find It: Howe Library Reference (1st Floor); Call Number: E184 .A1 R78 2013; Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.); Description: Provides data and analysis on the populations listed in the title, covering attitudes, education, health, housing, income, work, living arrangements, population, wealth, and spending.