UVM Libraries Research Guides: Continuing Education--Research Guide for Program Developers: Opportunities

Enrollment Outlook

The Survey of Adult and Continuing Education Programs in Higher Education

Primary Research Group, 2011 (ISBN 1-57440-159-9).

NOTE: Howe Library does not own this book. To request that the library purchase a copy for the collection, please click here. Alternatively, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan, or you may purchase your own copy.

This book reports the results of a survey of 40 colleges and universities that provide adult education programs. Data include management's assessment of enrollment trends and outlook in more than 20 types of programs. Also included are data about revenues, employers' contribution to tuition, faculty size, and marketing mix and expenditures.

Employment Projections and Training Requirements

These U.S. government sources can help you identify occupations to target. Because many certification and licensure requirements are handled at the state level, it's wise to look at state government websites, as well.

O NET Online “Find Occupations.” Use the "Bright Outlook" search to identify occupations that are expected to grow rapidly in the next several years or will have large numbers of job openings.

www.onetonline.org/find/

Bureau of Labor Statistics, "Occupations with the most job growth"

www.bls.gov/emp/ep_table_104.htm

Bureau of Labor Statistics, "Fastest Growing Occupations"

www.bls.gov/emp/ep_table_103.htm

Bureau of Labor Statistics, "Employment Projections"

data.bls.gov/projections/occupationProj

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Select occupations in categories such as "number of new jobs (projected)," "growth rate (projected)," and "on the job training."

Industry Forecasts

We have numerous sources of industry reports, covering market segments, trends and forecasts, employment, regulatory environment, and more.

Many sources are organized using industry codes (SIC or NAICS). For more information about industry codes, please see http://researchguides.uvm.edu/business#s-lg-box-20740849


Business insights: Essentials (formerly Business & Company Resource Center): Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site; URL: http://voyager.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/purl?cat=uvmdb&id=1331123; Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only); Description: A large database of industry and company (public, private, domestic, and international) information. Click "Industries" (or type a NAICS code in the main search box and change the drop-down menu to say "industry") to find reports on background, current trends, forecasts, and size of an industry.

D&B hoovers (formerly OneSource): Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site; URL: http://voyager.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/purl?cat=uvmdb&id=1627152; Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only); Description: Includes in-depth global industry and market research reports. To search for an industry, click "Research Industries" link.
Encyclopedia of emerging industries: Where to Find It: Howe Library Reference (1st Floor); Call Number: HC102 .E54 2011; Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.); Description: Contains essays covering mostly new businesses and sectors that have shown significant growth or potential for growth. Arranged alphabetically.

IBISWorld industry market research: Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site; URL: http://voyager.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/purl?cat=uvmdb&id=1625905; Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only); Description: Comprehensive current and historical reports on more than 1,300 U.S. industries and 75 reports on global industries. Reports cover industry statistics, history, outlook, conditions, major companies, market characteristics and segments, financial ratios, and more. Click "US Industry Reports" for current reports on large industries, click "US Specialized Industry Reports" to access information about small or new industries. Click "US Industry Archives" to access previous reports dating back to 2001. Click "Global Industries Reports" to see international reports. Click "US Business Environment Profiles" for reports on consumer behavior, financial markets, demographics, commodities, and economic indicators. NOTE: The selection of reports changes without notice, so if you find one that's useful, print or download it to ensure continued access.



Industry surveys (formerly Standard & Poor's industry surveys): Where to Find It: Howe Library Reference (1st Floor); Call Number: HC106.6 .S74; Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.); Description: Profiles 43 industries in depth twice a year, including current environment, industry trends, marketing issues, management concerns, key players, financial data and ratios. Check prior years' editions if your industry isn't covered in the current set. Industry surveys are currently arranged in alphabetical order; check the index at the front of Volume I for a list of surveys.

Manufacturing & distribution U.S.A.: Where to Find It: Howe Library Reference (1st Floor); Call Number: HD9724 .M364; Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.); Description: Provides information on industries in manufacturing and wholesale and retail trade, plus an analysis of the general state of manufacturing. Organized by NAICS codes, it includes data on establishments, employment, compensation, production, leading companies, inputs/outputs, and product share.


Mergent archives: Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site; URL: http://voyager.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/purl?cat=uvmdb&id=2354071; Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only); Description: To browse or search for industry reports, click the "First Research" tab.
Mergent online: Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site; URL: http://voyager.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/purl?cat=uvmdb&id=1303355; Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only); Description: To access industry reports, click "Industry Analysis" and choose an industry in the "Search by Industry" box.
Vital signs online: Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site; URL: http://voyager.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/purl?cat=uvmdb&id=1887771; Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only); Description: Provides data and analysis on critical global trends in energy, transportation, environment, climate, food, agriculture, global economy, population, and society.