This resource is a searchable portal to integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. It covers all aspects of clothing, dress, fashion, and textiles around the world. It contains the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, fashion and costume dictionaries, and e-books. It provides selected images from the encyclopedia and selected museum collections in the U.S. and abroad.
This archive contains full issues of Vogue magazine from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. The archive is indexed and can be searched by photographer, fashion item (kimono, scoop neckline, Breton jacket), person pictured, company/brand, designer name, or material (chiffon, wool, taffeta).
This resource provides full access to Godey’s Lady’s Book (1830-1898), one of the most influential U.S. women's magazines of that era. Alongside articles concerning all aspects of the domestic sphere, the magazine includes patterns for handcrafts, color plates of the latest fashions, literary works, song lyrics, and sheet music. Click on the grey Search button at the bottom of the title description to access items in this title only.
Database of high quality image collections, from all periods and geographic regions. In addition to searching by keyword (e.g., william shakespeare), note under "Browse ARTstor by Classification," the following categories: "Performing Arts" and "Fashion, Costume and Jewelry."
Provides access to a wide range of primary source types beyond genealogical materials. Most notable for costumers is the Sears Catalog, one of the first and largest mail order catalogs in the U.S. To access the Catalog click "Search" at the top of the screen. Click "Card Catalog". On the next screen, in the "Title" search box, type the word Sears. Then click the link Historic Catalogs of Sears, Roebuck and Co., 1896-1993. Browse catalogs by year or search within.
Image Search Engines - Freely Available on the Internet
An all-digital library that aggregates information and thumbnails for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums in the United States.
Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries, covering the time period 8000 BCE-2000 CE.
This internationally recognized image database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains @100,000 images, is global in coverage, and includes all areas of visual imagery.
Search for images and other Internet content from other established web sites (such as Google Images or YouTube) that the content producers stated could be used commercially and/or with modification. For example, when you use Creative Commons to search Google Images, it will return only those images that are labeled for commercial reuse with modification. (read more about Creative Commons).
Digital Image Collections - Freely Available on the Internet
Access point for digitized images of physical objects related to the performing arts, including, but not limited to, posters, props, costumes, sketches, sculptures and figurines, designs and set models.
The Costume Institute's collection of more than thirty-three thousand objects represents seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
Explore digital collections, including Performing Arts from the Library of Congress. Includes written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
50+ digitized complete Christmas catalogs from companies such as Sears, JC Penney, Ward, Lord & Taylor, FAO Schwarz, Spiegel. Years represented vary widely, but the earliest is from 1937 and the latest from 1996.
Duke University Libraries. Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S.and Canadian newspapers and magazines 1911-1955. Concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio; Television; Transportation; Beauty and Hygiene; and World War II.
This resource is a British-based collection of high-definition streaming videos which captures live full-length professional theatre productions from leading theatre companies primarily in Great Britain. It also includes text- and video-based study guides; teaching aids; videos of filmed interviews with actors, etc., associated with the productions; full-text of the Manga Shakespeare series.
This resource is a platform for streaming video, including feature films and documentaries from around the world. Faculty note: please contact Multimedia Services if you need Kanopy videos for teaching, as access varies over time.