Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

French Language & Literature: Home

Guide to research for students of Italian language and literature at UVM. Includes information about sources in English and French. Use to locate dictionaries and encyclopedias, learn grammar, find film, newspapers, articles, journals, books, and more

Welcome

This guide provides starting points for students researching French and Francophone language and literature at UVM. Many of the sources on this guide are in English but others are in French. Use to locate dictionaries and encyclopedias, learn grammar, find film, newspapers, articles, journals, books, and more.

If you have question or need more help, please contact me using the information below or make an appointment to talk with me in person about your research.

 

Guide Contents

Dictionaries, Grammar, & Usage - Discover bilingual dictionaries, French language dictionaries, guides to verbs, and guides to the use of French in writing.

Encyclopedias & Background Sources - Print and online reference sources that include background information, biographical information, and basic historical and cultural information to assist you in understanding Italian literature. Works on this list are in both English and French.

Journals & Articles - Provides access to recommended library databases for locating scholarly articles on French and Francophone language and literature as well as links to journals in the fields of Italian language and culture.

Books - Resources and strategies for locating Italian literature and criticism in our collection and beyond as well as strategies for locating materials in Italian or in translation.

Audio & Video - Access to streaming French and Francophone film collections at UVM as well as other media.

News & Newspapers - Information about finding current and historical French and Francophone language newspapers from France, Quebec, and elsewhere.

Online Collections - Guide to digital collections related to French and Francophone literature and culture. Most of this material is in French.

Librarian

Daisy Benson's picture
Daisy Benson
Contact:
David W. Howe Memorial Library, Room 100
daisy.benson@uvm.edu
802-656-0636