Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The sources on this page will provide you with a basic overview of people, themes, and movements in Italian literature as well as selected sources related to Italian history and culture. See the resources for Books and Articles to locate more in depth sources.
Literature and Authors
Cambridge History of Italian Literature
English language history of Italian Literature covers all periods from the 14th century through the late 20th. Lengthy essays will introduce you to authors of prose, poetry, and theatrical works. Includes maps, bibliography, and text can be read online or downloaded to Kindle, Dropbox, or Google Drive.
Dictionary of Italian Literature by
Call Number: PQ 4006 .D45 1996 (Reference)
This English language work on Italian literature provides short essays on authors, literary movements, Includes a timeline and an index that groups entries by literary periods and movements.
Dizionario Critico della Letteratura Italiana
Call Number: PQ 4057 .D59 1986 (Reference)
in Italian. This four volume set provides detailed essays by noted scholars on the history of Italian literature. Each entry includes bibliography of resources most of which are also in Italian.
The Feminist Encyclopedia of Italian Literature
Call Number: PQ 4063 .F45 1997 (Reference)
Short encyclopedia on feminist issues and female authors in Italian literature through 1997.In English.
Italian Women Writers by
Call Number: PQ 4063 .I88 1994 (Reference)
This reference work contains biographical, critical, and bibliographical profiles of 51 writers from the 14th century to the present day. The entries are written by contributors knowledgeable of the historical period in which their chosen writers lived, and reflect both the literary tradition that conditioned their works and the modern gender issues that have shaped contemporary critical interpretation.
This peer-reviewed online encyclopedia provides authoritative background and short criticism on world literature and cultural history. The work includes authored essays, chronologies, critical bibliographies, and more. It is continuously updated.
The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature
Call Number: PQ 4006 .O84 2002 (Reference)
Covers the 13th century to the present, The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature takes a broad view of what constitutes literature, covering historical writing, travel writing, theatre, and philosophy as well as the novel, poetry, and critical theory. Provides an overview on Italian dialect literature; and highlights articles which place the writers and their works in their wider social, historical, artistic, and political context.