UVM Libraries Research Guides: Complementary and Integrative Health: Evidence-based Resources

Evidence-based Resources

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
This resource contains descriptions of medical diseases and disorders and is designed to be consulted by health care practitioners as they evaluate potential clinical diagnostic and treatment options. It also includes drug information, medical calculators, images, patient information in English and Spanish, continuing medical education modules, and links to full-text journal articles.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
This resource, formally Natural Medicines, is an evidence-based, full-text resource for information about natural medicines and complementary therapies. Detailed monographs are provided for hundreds of foods, herbs, and dietary supplements, including information about their safety and effectiveness, dosing and administration, adverse effects, interactions, and references.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
This resource includes systematic reviews from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness. It also includes other resources such as the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.

Drug Information

Drugs.com Provides hard-to-find comprehensive information on generic, OTC, and brand pharmaceuticals. Includes pill identifier, interactions checker, and text of package inserts. Contains advertising.

Merative Micromedex This link opens in a new window This resource is a collection of drug and toxicology databases, including Martindale, Material Safety Data Sheets, Physician's Desk Reference (PDR), POISONDEX, and others. Together, these provide comprehensive information about drugs, diseases, and toxicology, as well as drug interactions, IV compatibility, laboratory tests, product lookups, dosing calculators, and CareNotes for patient education.

NLM Drug Information Portal Drug information website from the US National Library of Medicine. Information is drawn from numerous sources, including PubMed Health, LactMed, MedlinePlus, Pillbox, DrugBank, and others.

Drug information can also be found in general clinical resources, such as AccessMedicine, Embase, Natural Medicines, and UpToDate.

Information for Patients

MedlinePlus is an excellent source of high-quality health-related information written for the general public. Contents are taken from authoritative and reputable sources, and are written at a variety of reading levels.