Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Online Sources
19th Century British Periodicals
Collection of full-text British periodicals in the public domain from the Hathi Trust. Includes access to Punch, Gentleman's Magazine, Penny Magazine and more. Browse through volumes in the collection or search the entire collection.
American Historical Periodicals
A guide to digitized American historical periodicals from the 18th through the 20th century. Includes access to Harper's, Life, Vogue, and more.
Digital version of all issues of LIFE magazine from 1935-1970. An invaluable resource for studying American culture during this time period.
Picture Post Historical Archive
This resource provides complete access to The Picture Post (1938-1957), a photojournalistic magazine from the United Kingdom.
National Geographic Virtual Library
This resource contains cover-to-cover, full text of National Geographic since 1888, including articles and advertisements.
Full run of Vogue magazine from 1892 to the present. In full color.
Classic Library Catalog
Use the Guided Keyword search and look for a broad topic and the term periodicals in the subject line.
WorldCat is a library catalog that lists materials in libraries throughout the world. Terminology that works for searching the Classic Library Catalog will work in WorldCat. Place requests for materials through Inter-Library Loan.
Great for locating digitized books and documents published up through the first quarter of the 20th century. To locate periodicals search the catalog search function to search broad topic using a keyword and the term periodicals in the subject line periodicals" in the search. Use the full-text search option to search within periodicals.
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982
Use this database to identify periodical articles published in American popular magazine between 1890 and 1982. Follow Find it @ UVM or use Library Catalog to determine if we own the periodical in which the article was published.