Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Vermonters in the Civil War
Digital collection of letters written by Vermonters during the Civil War.
Fletcher Family Papers
This collection includes family correspondence from the period 1826-1903 and photographs from circa 1860-1890. The material comes from the Fletcher Family subseries of the Consuelo Northrop Bailey Papers, which contains family papers collected by Consuelo's mother, Katherine Fletcher Northrop.
From UVM's Center for Digital Initiatives
Letters written between Charles Darwin and Joseph Hooker written from 1843 until the time of Darwin's death provide a glimpse into some of the most important scientific discourse of the 19th century. Letters here are digitized with full transcripts. See also the Darwin Correspondence Project
From Cambridge University
Geogre Washington Papers
Letters, diaries, accounting books, and other personal documents of George Washington's.
Materials from 1741-1799 are included.
From the Library of Congress.
Diaries kept by students at Vassar College that document life at a women's college in the 19th and early 20th century.
From Vassar College.
Women's Travel Diaries
19th century diaries by American and British women that document travel in the Middle East, Asia, Africa, and more.
From Duke University.
Classic Library Catalog
Use the Guided Keyword search and look for a topic and the word correspondence as a term in the subject line or the term personal narratives in the subject line.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Great for locating digitized books and documents published up through the first quarter of the 20th century. To diaries and memoirs perform a catalog search and include the term "personal narratives" in the search.
WorldCat is a library catalog that lists materials in libraries throughout the world. Terminology that works for searching the Classic Library Catalog will work in WorldCat. Place requests for materials through Inter-Library Loan.
Special Collections Finding Aids - Correspondence
Guides to original archival materials at UVM that include significant collections of correspondence and letters.
Special Collections Finding Aids - Diaries
Guides to original archival materials at UVM that include significant collections diaries. This finding aid describes each individual collection and also provides access to collections with content on certain locations, occupation, topics, and people.