Finding and Using Primary Sources: Newspapers

This resource provides access to newspapers by and/or for African Americans. Significant titles include: Freedom's Journal, the first African American newspaper published in the US; Frederick Douglass' Paper; and the Washington Bee. Explore historical events related to the anti-slavery movement, the great migration, the modern civil rights movement, and more. Search or browse the collection to find news articles, letters to the editor, advertisements, images, and editorials.

This full-text collection includes hundreds of American newspapers from all 50 states published between 1690 and 1999 (most coverage is for dates prior to 1924). Papers are presented as full-image PDFs and include news, editorials, advertisements, and more.

This database is a digitized version of the microfilm edition of the Boston Globe (1872-1990). The paper is fully digitized in PDF format and includes news reports, editorials and editorial cartoons, advertisements, reviews, obituaries, and illustrations and photographs.

This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the daily edition of the Burlington Free Press published from 1848-2007. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. For best search results set parameters to look for search terms "in Anywhere."

Digital version of The Chicago Tribune.
Dates of coverage: 1849-1989

This open source collection includes digitized local newspapers from all regions of the U.S. and provides a number of ethnic and foreign language titles. Papers are presented as full image PDFs and include news, editorials, advertisements, and more. Dates of publication range from the late 18th century through 1963.

This resource gives you access to a unique collection of primarily ethnic newspapers, magazines and journals published in the United States and beyond. Represented ethnic groups include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Multi-Ethnic; and Native People. Dates of coverage vary but generally start in the 1980s.

Full-text archive of the paper. Covers the years 1881-1987.

Full-text of the New York Times since 1851 (excludes the most recent three years). Search or browse full-page images of the paper.

Collection of national and regional British newspapers from the collections at the British Library. Articles are presented as images of originals and can be viewed individually or in page context. Entire text is searchable and keywords are highlighted in resulting articles.

This database provides digital access to the British newspapers the Guardian (1821-2003) and the Observer (1791-2003).

Digital version of the Times (London). Dates of coverage are 1785-1985.

Full digitized version of the newspaper. The Times of India is in English. Dates of coverage 1838 - 2003.

Digitized version of the WSJ. Great for historical research on all aspects of the economy, industry, international news, and more.
Dates of coverage: 1889-1995

Digitized version of The Washington Post great source for coverage of US politics and government issues . Dates of coverage: 1877-1995.

CATQuest can be used to search for newspaper titles in the UVM Collections. Use Advanced Search and place the term newspapers as a subject term combined with a place.