UVM Libraries Research Guides: History of Women in the US : Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspapers & Periodicals Online

You historical newspapers to see how events and issues were written about as they occured. Also browse through issues for a time period to get a feel for the time and locate unexpected resources such as advertisments.

African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to newspapers by and/or for African Americans. Significant titles include: Freedom's Journal, the first African American newspaper published in the US; Frederick Douglass' Paper; and the Washington Bee. Explore historical events related to the anti-slavery movement, the great migration, the modern civil rights movement, and more. Search or browse the collection to find news articles, letters to the editor, advertisements, images, and editorials.
America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1999) This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection that includes hundreds of American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922.Search or browse early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states.
Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers, 1872-rolling end date) This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive if the paper. Covers the years 1872-1979.
Burlington Free Press Archive (1848-2007) This link opens in a new window
This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the daily edition of the Burlington Free Press published from 1848-2007. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. For best search results set parameters to look for search terms "in Anywhere."
Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers, 1849-rolling end date) This link opens in a new window
Digital version of The Chicago tribune.
Dates of coverage: 1849-1989
Christian Science Monitor (ProQuest Historical Newspapers, 1908-rolling end date) This link opens in a new window
Digital edition on The Christian Science Monitor.
Dates of coverage (1908-1999)
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers, 1881- rolling end date) This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of the paper. Covers the years 1881-1987.
New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers, 1851-rolling end date) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the New York Times since 1851 (excludes the most recent three years). Search or browse full-page images of the paper.
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers, 1877-rolling end date) This link opens in a new window
Digitized version of The Washington Post. Dates of coverage: 1877-1995.

Historical Newspapers not at UVM

The following tools can help you to identify historical newspapers to borrow through Interlibrary Loan.

Center for Research Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to many research sources that are not available elsewhere in the United States. Materials include international newspapers, foreign language books and theses, and extensive primary sources collections. Request non-digital items through Interlibrary Loan.