This national student-run organization engages college and high-school students in anti-hunger programs for their local communities. The website provides a list of the current Campus Kitchens projects, press releases, and a blog that provides information on the organization’s national initiatives.
Feeding America is a domestic hunger-relief charity whose mission is “to feed America’s hungry through a nationwide network of member food banks and engage our country in the fight to end hunger.” To that end, their website provides information about a number of local programs they support and links to specific food access case studies; they also publish an annual study looking at the status of hunger in America.
The Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) provides food security and nutrition education to children and low-income families. Included in their programming is the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) and Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infant, Children (WIC) program; FNS also runs the National School Lunch Program. The website provides access to reports looking at the farm-to-school initiative, as well as publications and data sets about their various programs.
This site provides information on national and state laws and regulations pertaining to gleaning and food donation, state specific factsheets on gleaning and food donation liability, an interactive map of gleaning and fresh food recovery organizations across the country, and other topical resources.
The National Good Food Network is bringing together people from all parts of the rapidly emerging good food system – producers, buyers, distributors, advocates, investors and funders – to create a community dedicated to scaling up good food sourcing and access. Included is a link to a searchable resource of knowledge, people/organizations and funders focused on the work of scaling up good food.
The W.K. Kellogg Foundation provides funding for organizations and institutions to invest in communities and children. Through their Food & Community Program, they seek to strengthen community food systems by improving school food and promoting national healthy eating and active living movements. The website provides information about grant opportunities, as well as a list of grantees and their projects.
World Hunger Year (WHY) is a nonprofit organization working to “end hunger and poverty by connecting people to nutritious, affordable food and by supporting grassroots solutions that inspire self-reliance and community empowerment.” The website has links to WHY publications on community food security, youth and urban agriculture, and farm-to-school initiatives, as well as the National Hunger Clearinghouse’s resource directory.
This interactive map gives a spatial overview of food access at a national, state or county-level, looking at statistics related to food choices, health and well-being, and community characteristics. The Atlas provides specific data for local foods, including direct-to-consumer sales, farmers’ markets, and farm-to-school programming.