Skip to Main Content
Journal article databases
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This resource provides bibliographic records, some with links to full text, for the research and professional literature in nursing and other allied health fields such as physical therapy and athletic training.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
This resource includes systematic reviews from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness. It also includes other resources such as the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. Google Scholar's coverage is extremely broad and sometimes more up-to-date than other databases - but its non-selective coverage may include lower-quality publications.
This link to Google Scholar will enable UVM affiliates to easily link through to materials to which we have access.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Use LLBA to find scholarly articles in peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, books and dissertations in linguistics, communication sciences, speech, hearing and language studies.
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
This resource is used to find scholarly and evidence-based articles from journals in medicine, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care administration, plus allied health fields and biosciences.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This resource contains international scholarly articles in peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology, education, and the social, behavioral and health sciences. PsycINFO is the most comprehensive database for literature in the psychological sciences.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This free resource comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. This resource is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the scholarly literature across disciplines, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and more. It includes a cited reference search feature that enables users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work, analyzes search results by discipline, and creates citation reports of a set of search results.
Additional Resources
SpeechBite
SpeechBITE is a database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice. It includes systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials, non-randomized controlled trials, single-case experimental designs, case series, and clinical practice guidelines.
TRiP Database
Formerly "Turning Research Into Practice", now simply Trip. Trip is a clinical search engine that provides a quick and easy way to find high-quality research evidence. It searches evidence-based sources such as systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically appraised topics and articles, plus images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news items.
