Finding Articles - ANTH 1400: Biological Anthropology - Blom (Fall 2023) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Finding Articles for this class and others ...

Many professors will require that you focus on the scholarly journal literature as you conduct your research. Depending on the assignment, other professors may not have this requirement. However, it is important to be able to discern the scholarly, peer-reviewed journal literature from other types of periodical literature.

Distinguishing between Scholarly and Non-Scholarly Periodicals

Here is a list of selected, recommended databases to help you find scholarly journal articles on biological anthropology-related topics:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary index to journal articles and partially full-text database that includes many references and full text articles on anthropological topics. A highly recommended starting point for accessing journal articles on research areas in anthropology. Coverage: 1970s - present.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index to the journal literature in the broad field of anthropology and archaeology and related disciplines including art history, economics, folklore, linguistics, psychology, and religious studies. Coverage: Late 19th century to present. Combines holdings of Harvard University's anthropology library and holdings of the Museum of Mankind Library (U.K.).
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
This resource is a full-text, searchable database of publications from the American Anthropological Association (AAA). It contains the full-text of articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins, and monographs.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This free resource comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. This resource is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the scholarly literature across disciplines, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and more. It includes a cited reference search feature that enables users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work, analyzes search results by discipline, and creates citation reports of a set of search results.

Electronic Journal Collections

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to journals published by the American Anthropological Association, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Medical Anthropology Quarterly,and much more. Premier online resource that supports the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides an electronic archive of scholarly journals, including a collection of anthropology journals. Users can browse the journals or retrieve articles via full-text searching. Issues published within the last 2-5 years are generally not covered. The purpose of JSTOR is to provide access to back issues of journals, not current issues.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
An electronic collection of over 380 journals published by major university presses. The journal collection covers the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Many titles related to the field of anthropology are included.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
This resource covers journal literature and e-books from Elsevier in the sciences, social sciences, health sciences, and humanities.
NOTE: In December 2020, UVM Libraries cancelled this subscription. Materials that we purchased through 2020 and selected open access materials can still be accessed through this database. Many additional items can be identified through this tool and, if unavailable via ScienceDirect, can be obtained for UVM affiliates at no charge through our Interlibrary Loan Service (ILL) by clicking on the "Find it at UVM" links within ScienceDirect.
Springer Journals This link opens in a new window
This publisher platform provides full-text access to articles, journals, chapters, books, and reference works in the sciences and social sciences.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals covering a broad range of academic disciplines, inclduing anthropology. Some e-book titles are available as well in this collection.

Electronic journal titles in Biological Anthropology

To access these journals, type the title of the journal into the Find Journals search box. Note that to access from off campus, you must have clicked on the link from the library home page to "Connect from Off Campus" and have logged in with your UVM netid and password.

American Journal of Physical Anthropology

American Journal of Primatology

Annual Review of Anthropology

Evolutionary Anthropology

Homo - Journal of Comparative Human Biology

Human Biology

Human Evolution

International Journal of Osteoarchaeology

Journal of Human Evolution