UVM Libraries Research Guides: History of South Asia: Additional Online Collections

Online Collections

British History Online This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of primary and secondary materials on British History from the 11th through the 19th centuries. Extensive resources on Parliamentary, legal, church, and local histories.

British Library Digitised Manuscripts
Includes numerous manuscripts from India. Search for India or other keyword to locate materials.
Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog: Electronic Resources
Books, dissertations, and foreign documents that have been scanned. Search within the full list for materials related to India during your period of study.
Centre of South Asian Studies - Film Collections
Streaming video collection of home movies made between 1911 and 1956 that document the end of the British colonial period in India.
Centre of South Asian Studies - Oral History Collection
Audio interviews conducted in the 1970s with people who had lived and worked in India during the colonial period. Each interview has a full transcript.
CIViC Archives | An archive of Indian Visual Culture
Large collection of visual materials from India. Warning: Only limited portions of this material can be viewed online.
Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts
Sponsored by the Indira Gandhi National Center for the Arts, this site includes digital images, online audio collections, and online books.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
Links to a small collection of electronic texts relating to the colonial period.
Medical History of British India - National Library of Scotland
Nineteenth Century British Periodicals
Collection of full-text British periodicals in the public domain from the Hathi Trust. Includes access to Punch, Gentleman's Magazine, Penny Magazine and more. Browse through volumes in the collection or search the entire collection.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century Collections Online encompasses multiple collections of primary source materials. Among these is the British Politics and Society Collection that includes archival content on radicalism, reform movements, crime, Freethinkers, Labor history, and more. Documents include books, letters, pamphlets, reports, periodicals, Home Office records, and more. Other collections in the resource cover Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture , and European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection.

OpenDOAR - Open Access Countries and Organisations - Asia
Guide to institutional repositories in Asia. Many of these will not include primary historical materials but they are worth browsing through quickly.
Search - RGS Picture Library
Large image database from the Royal Geographical Society. Can search by keyword and limit searches to time periods.
South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA)
The South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA) documents, preserves and provides access to the history of the South Asian American community.
The Ancient Indus Valley and the British Raj in India and Pakistan
The Digital South Asia Library
A huge collection of materials on South Asia. Highlights include: * Images from the American Instite of Indian Studies * Imerpial Gazetteer of India * Statistical Abstracts of British India
The Tibet Mirror
The Tibet Mirror (Tib. Yul phyogs so so'i gsar 'gyur me long) was published from 1925 to 1963 in Kalimpong, and chronicles the most dramatic social and political transformation to have occurred in Tibet during a time when vernacular writing was relatively scarce, and a Tibetan media practically non-existent.