Skip to Main Content
Journal article databases
CINAHL
CINAHL contains citations and abstracts for the literature of nursing and the allied health professions. CINAHL is owned and distributed by EBSCO. CINAHL includes journal articles, books/book chapters, continuing education, dissertations/theses, web resources, and much more.
Cochrane LIbrary
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases created by the International Cochrane Collaboration, and published by Wiley. It includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), and several other databases.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is used for verifying citations, and for finding citing articles, related articles, and unpublished documents such as white papers and technical reports.Click on the menu icon (upper left) to access the Advanced Search option.
Ovid MEDLINE
In addition to PubMed, you can also access the MEDLINE database through Ovid Technologies' search platform. Though the search interface looks much different than PubMed's, it is basically the same database,
PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's free version of MEDLINE. To display the icons for UVM's Libraries' e-journals, be sure to access PubMed through a link on a UVM Libraries web page.
Web of Science (WOS)
The Web of Science Core Collection includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It can be used for subject searching or for cited reference searching. WOS includes Journal Citation Reports, with impact factors. The MEDLINE database is also available on the Web of Science platform.
