UVM Libraries Research Guides: Sociology: Find Statistics and Data

US Statistics and Data

Bureau of Justice Statistics
BJS is the primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice. The mission of BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
This free website provides a centralized place to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau, including demographic data on the U.S. population from 2000 to present.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
This source include statistical tables, charts, and essays incorporating a wide variety of historical data. The data can be downloaded for use in Excel and other programs.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
This resource can be used to explore both historical and contemporary U.S. Census data in report form or visually on a map, allowing for comparison of information from different censuses or geographic areas.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
This online data and mapping application gives access to indicators about U.S. communities and markets covering demographics, employment and socioeconomic indicators, housing, crime, health, and more, at multiple geographic levels. Users can access data in interactive maps, tables, charts, and reports.
Roper Center For Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
This archive contains social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
This resource offers access to 65 billion U.S. and international data points from over 90 sources, covering agriculture and food, business, economy, education, energy, environment, politics, and more. Also offers customizable visualizations of data (tables, charts, maps, etc.).
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to comprehensive summary statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Learn more about using this resource from the publishers guide.

United States Census Bureau
This site provides access to a wide variety of census data not found in American Factfinder.

Global Statistics and Data

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
This resource has data holdings that encompass a range of academic disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, history, economics, international relations, gerontology, public health, criminal justice, and education. Data collections consist of raw data files and code-books. Data sets can be downloaded directly to a user's computer for use with statistical software.

UNdata
United Nations data includes international demographic, social, economic and other useful statistical information.

World Bank DataBank This link opens in a new window
This resource is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a wide variety of social and economic topics. Data can be downloaded in multiple formats and there are advanced features for creating queries and generating customized tables, charts and maps.
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
This resource compiles international development data (1960-present) at the national and regional level on a wide range of topics.