UVM Libraries Research Guides: Sociology: Find Background Information

Encyclopedias, directories, handbooks, and dictionaries.

Dictionary of Sociology (Oxford)
Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: A User's Guide to Sociological Language HM 425 .J64 2000 (Reference)
Critical Dictionary of Sociology HM 17 .B6813 1989 (Reference)
Encyclopedia of Community : From the Village to the Virtual World (4 volumes) HM 756 .E53 2003 (Reference)
Encyclopedia of Sociology (5 volumes) HM 425 .E5 2000 (Reference)
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Encyclopaedia of the Social Sciences (15 volumes) H 41 .E6 (Reference)
Guide to Graduate Departments of Sociology HM 47.U6 G84 (Reference)
Handbook of Sociology HM 51 .H249 1988 (Reference)
International Encyclopedia of Sociology HM 17 .I53 1984 (Reference)
Key Quotations in Sociology HM 17 .T56 1996 (Reference)
Encyclopedia of Population

The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology by Allan G. Johnson
Call Number: HM425 .J64 2000 (Howe Library Reference)
Publication Date: 2000
This sociology dictionary provides background information on sociology and its related fields, makes this a unique and valuable reference work.
A Critical Dictionary of Sociology by Raymond Boudon; François Bourricaud; Peter Hamilton (Selected by, Translator)
Call Number: HM17 .B6813 1989 (Howe Library Reference)
Publication Date: 1990
This distinguished reference work is much more than a lexicon or ordinary dictionary. Each essay, complete with bibliographical references, presents a selective and critical discussion of some issue fundamental to sociology. Synthesizing American, British, French, and German, taken together these contributions provide a coherent and sophisticated critique of the sociological tradition.
A Dictionary of Sociology by John Scott; Gordon Marshall
Publication Date: 2009
This work includes over 2,500 entries defining terms taken from sociology and the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science.