American History: Historical Newspapers & Periodicals
Recommended starting points for research on all areas of American history. Use to locate key reference works, books, articles, newspapers, and other primary resources.
Highlights of the collection include access to The Pennsylvania Gazette, Frank Leslie's Weekly, Godey's Ladies' Book, a collection of African-American Newspapers, Civil War materials, and more. Dates of coverage varies.
Full-text collection that includes hundreds of American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922.
Search or browse early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states.
This resource provides access to a wide array of difficult-to-find American periodicals that were published between 1684 and 1922. The collection offers multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America.
Digitized version of the WSJ. Great for historical research on all aspects of the economy, industry, international news, and more. Dates of coverage: 1889-1995
This open source collection includes digitized local newspapers from all regions of the U.S. and provides a number of ethnic and foreign language titles. Papers are presented as full image PDFs and include news, editorials, advertisements, and more. Dates of publication range from the late 18th century through 1963.
This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the daily edition of the Burlington Free Press published from 1848-2007. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. For best search results set parameters to look for search terms "in Anywhere."
The Center for Research Libraries has an extensive collection of historical newspapers from around the world. Use their Catalog to identify materials and then place a request through Interlibrary Loan.
Browse or search this digitized version of one of the most important American periodicals for the 19th and early 20th century. Dates of coverage: 1857 - 1912.
