SPCH 1610: Social Justice Debate (Fall 2024)

This resource presents full-text reports examining government policy and current issues. Each report includes historical context, recent news and developments, statistics, arguments from opposing sides of the debate, and bibliographic references to related sources. Topics include politics, economics, law, media and more.

This resource provides full-text articles published in The New York Times from Jan. 1, 2008, up to one month ago. Page-view images show the entire newspaper page including images and advertisements. Content can be searched by keyword or browsed by date. Coverage is cover-to-cover (including Book Review and Magazine sections), except that some articles by freelancers may not be included.

UVM affiliates may use this link to access the registration page for UVM's institutional subscription to the New York Times website. This subscription provides access to news, opinion, the book review, the magazine, Cooking, and more but excludes premium content such as the crossword. You must use your UVM email address to create an account and then go to nytimes.com and login to start reading. (This account will need to be reactivated via a library link periodically). Contact Ask a Librarian for help or more information.

This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.

This resource provides access to a wide variety of research materials from the UVM Libraries. Use it to locate books, articles, government publications, films, music, images, archival materials, and more.

This resource gives you access to a unique collection of primarily ethnic newspapers, magazines and journals published in the United States and beyond. Represented ethnic groups include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Multi-Ethnic; and Native People.

This resource provides full-text access to selected articles published in the Burlington Free Press newspaper 1999-present. Coverage is NOT cover-to-cover. Only selected articles are included, as determined by the Burlington Free Press, and only articles written by the newspaper staff. It does not contain newswire reports.

This resource is the preferred search tool in the field of education. It contains scholarly and practitioner-oriented articles in peer-reviewed and other journals, papers given at conferences, and scholarly reports in education and the behavioral sciences. It provides citation records, as well as a large amount of full-text content. Access for non-UVM affiliates @ eric.ed.gov.

This resource references journal and periodical articles, conference papers, and monographs in broad areas related to the environment, including but not limited to: ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution, law, policy, social and human impacts, and planning. It includes some full text and links to full text.

This resource contains international scholarly articles in peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology, education, and the social, behavioral and health sciences. PsycINFO is the most comprehensive database for literature in the psychological sciences.

This resource provides access to the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It includes references to scholarly journal articles and periodicals, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers, with some full text and links to full text.

This resource provides abstracts and citations for the international literature in political science, international relations and related topics. It includes abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews as well as abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers. Coverage is from 1975 - present.