Articles, Journals, and Databases - SOC 3230: Criminal Justice - Fox (Spring 2024) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Sample Journals

To see if UVM has access to a specific journal, you can search for it by title here.

Here is a small sampling of journals that you may find useful:

American Journal of Criminal Justice
A peer-reviewed journal offering extensive research on diverse criminal justice topics and issues.
Policing & Society
An international academic journal specialising in the study of policing institutions and their practices. It is concerned with all aspects of how policing articulates and animates the social contexts in which it is located. This includes
Criminology
Criminology is devoted to the study of crime and deviant behavior. Interdisciplinary in scope, the journal publishes articles that advance the theoretical and research agenda of criminology and criminal justice.
Criminal Justice and Behavior
The official publication of the International Association for Correctional and Forensic Psychology (IACFP). Criminal Justice and Behavior promotes scholarly evaluations of assessment, classification, prevention, intervention, and treatment programs to help the correctional professional develop successful programs based on sound and informative theoretical and research foundations.

Research Tip: Browse

Browsing journals can be helpful for formulating a research topic. Remember that the scope of the journal is going to be much smaller than searching across an entire database.

Recommended Databases

Research databases can help you to identify scholarly articles in your area of study. There is some overlap in coverage but each research database will have some unique content.

Research Tip: Search Strategies. Use an * at the end of a word's root to find words with alternate endings. Use quotation marks to search for a phrase; for example, "criminal justice."

Research Tip: Cast a Wide Net. Use a variety of research databases as you look for resources and use Interlibrary Loan to access materials beyond UVM.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It includes references to scholarly journal articles and periodicals, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers, with some full text and links to full text.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
This resource is a database supporting research on law enforcement, litigation, and all aspects of crime. It includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, dissertations, and other materials. It contains citations, some with links to full text.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. Google Scholar's coverage is extremely broad and sometimes more up-to-date than other databases - but its non-selective coverage may include lower-quality publications.

This link to Google Scholar will enable UVM affiliates to easily link through to materials to which we have access.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
This database helps locate legal materials, including law review articles, court decisions, statutes, and the American Jurisprudence legal encyclopedia. This resource also includes full-text news and business articles and company information.

Research Tip: Search for Known Items

Did you find a great article? Follow its citation trails:

Review the footnotes and bibliography for additional sources to consult.
See who cited this article by searching for it in Google Scholar.