UVM Libraries Research Guides: REL 080 Religion and Race in America: Home

Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

David W. Howe Memorial Library, Room 100
daisy.benson@uvm.edu

Subjects: Art & Art History, Critical Race & Ethnic Studies, Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies, History, Holocaust Studies, Languages & Literature, Linguistics

Starting Places - Library Catalogs

CATQuest This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to a wide variety of research materials from the UVM Libraries. Use it to locate books, articles, government publications, films, music, images, archival materials, and more.

Finding Books: For best results finding books use the Advanced Search in CATQuest and limit the search to Library Catalog.

Tip: Use an * at the end of a search term to search for variant versions of a term. For example poet* will find poet, poets, poetry, poetic.

Terminology

Library of Congress Subject Headings are used to describe the books in our and other library collections. They are standardized terms assigned by the Library of Congress and change slowly. Some terms describe the genre of a work while others may describe the topic. In CATQuest when you look at the full information about a books you will see these in the section marked "Subjects." Use the associated links to find additional works with the designated subject. Here are a few examples of Subjects.

Terms For Topics	Terms Describing Primary Sources
Indians of North America Indian Authors Creek Indians	Interviews Personal Narratives Sources Letters

Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to millions of digitized titles that are in the public domain. Use it to locate historic or primary source materials from around the world. Use is open to everyone but UVM affiliates can log in to download texts for offline use.

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This resource gives you access to a unique collection of primarily ethnic newspapers, magazines and journals published in the United States and beyond. Represented ethnic groups include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Multi-Ethnic; and Native People.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary database of the full content of archival issues of scholarly journals. Issues published within the last 3-5 years are generally not covered. It also provides citations to books and pamphlets provided by JSTOR in digital format.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types.

News Sources

Indian Country Today
Indigenous news site covering issues from around the country.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This resource gives you access to a unique collection of primarily ethnic newspapers, magazines and journals published in the United States and beyond. Represented ethnic groups include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Multi-Ethnic; and Native People.
ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This resource offers access to the full text of local, regional, and national newspapers from throughout the world.

Selected Web Sites

American Indian Treaties
From the US National Archives.
National Museum of the American Indian
The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego. The NMAI is also dedicated to acting as a resource for the hemisphere's Native communities and to serving the greater public as an honest and thoughtful conduit to Native cultures—present and past.