UVM Libraries Research Guides: Religion: Christianity

Reference Works - Christianity

Cambridge Dictionary of Christianity
Call Number: REF BR 95 .C24 2010
Encyclopedia of Christianity
Call Number: REF BR 95 .E8913 1999 (5 vols)
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, 3rd ed. rev. by F. L. Cross (Editor); E. A. Livingstone (Editor)
Call Number: REF BR 95 .O8 2005
Provides authoritative coverage of theology, patristic scholarship, churches and denominations worldwide, canon law, and the church calendar, as well as entries on theologians, philosophers, artists, musicians, and mystics.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Call Number: REF BR 302.8 .O93 1996 (4 vols)
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF BX 841 .N44 2003 (15 vols)
Catholic Encyclopedia 1908 ed.
Objective and ecumenical in tone, with many non-Catholic contributors. The electronic version of the 1908 edition (Catholic Encyclopedia) is partially replaced and superceded by the 2003 edition, but is still important for its more historical points of view.

Dictionary of the Bible
With over 2,000 authoritative entries, it provides clear and concise information about all of the important places, people, themes, and doctrines of the Bible.
Oxford Companion to the Bible
Print: REF BS 440 .M434 1993. Pprovides an authoritative one-volume reference to the people, places, events, books, institutions, religious belief, and secular influence of the Bible. Entries range from brief identifications to extensive interpretive essays.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies
This encyclopedia explores the ways in which gender and sexuality are constructed in the texts, cultures, and readers that constitute “the world of the Bible,” tracing both historical and modern conceptions. Substantive entries are written by scholars in gender and biblical studies as well as contemporary gender theorists, classicists, archaeologists, and ancient historians.
Oxford guide to people & places of the Bible
Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies

Anchor Bible Dictionary
Call Number: REF BS 440 .A54 1992 (6 vols)
Definitive encyclopedia covering names, places, and events of the Bible as well as cultural history, social institutions, archaeological sites, and other topics of interest to biblical scholars.
HarperCollins Bible Dictionary
Call Number: REF BS 440 .H235 1996
HarperCollins Bible Commentary
Call Number: REF BS 491.2 .H37 2000
New Cambridge History of the Bible
Call Number: Print: REF BS 445 .N49 2013 (4 vols)

Columbia gazetteer of the world
Encyclopedia of geographical places and features - ancient and modern.

The Orthodox Christian World
This edited collection of essays is available as an eBook from the Howe Library.