Finding Articles - NR 6720: Transdisciplinary Leadership and Creativity Seminar - (2024-25) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Finding Articles for this class and others ...

These resources are interdisciplinary starting points. Look both within and between these resources (I will explain what I mean by this.)

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. Google Scholar's coverage is extremely broad and sometimes more up-to-date than other databases - but its non-selective coverage may include lower-quality publications.

This link to Google Scholar will enable UVM affiliates to easily link through to materials to which we have access.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to a variety of resources including scholarly journals, international newspapers, business information and dissertations.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the scholarly literature across disciplines, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and more. It includes a cited reference search feature that enables users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work, analyzes search results by discipline, and creates citation reports of a set of search results.

Finding news articles

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This resource gives you access to a unique collection of primarily ethnic newspapers, magazines and journals published in the United States and beyond. Represented ethnic groups include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Multi-Ethnic; and Native People.
ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This resource offers access to the full text of local, regional, and national newspapers in the US and throughout the world.

Transdisciplinary/ interdisciplinary research

The topics you are covering are broadly transdisciplinary and continually evolving. Depending on the nature of your inquiry, you may find relevant resources that further your understanding and exploration in databases across the wide range of disciplines.

Look at Databases by Subject for further resources that will be useful to you. (Click on the pull-down menu that defaults to "All subjects" for the subject list.) Comprehensive transdisciplinary/ interdisciplinary inquiry involves using a variety of databases.

Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
This resource provides learning materials for quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods research. It includes e-books such as SAGE's "Little Green" and "Little Blue" books, case studies, videos, and other types of information on different research methodologies.

Haven't taken advantage of your free institutional NYT subscription yet?

Instructions for setting up your NYT subscription:

To access, you must have an account associated with the UVM subscription.

Connecting to UVM subscription resources from off campus

Links from the Libraries websites (databases, journal articles, electronic resources) are automatically proxied for off campus use and you do not need to do anything else. If you haven’t already authenticated, attempting to access a library resource will generate a UVM log-in screen for you to enter your NetID and password.