POLS 021 American Political Systems (Summer 2023)

Includes access to laws/acts passed by Congress as well debate, and Presidential materials such as Executive orders.

This resource provides access to a large collection of contemporary and historical legal and policy information representing a global perspective. Use to locate articles from scholarly journals as well as government information and other primary sources including statutes, codes, and case law. Highlights include collections of Vermont materials; US Congressional Documents; publications of the American Enterprise Institute, and topic collections that address Religion and Law, Women and Law, Social Justice and more.

Use this database to locate court cases. Westlaw will find Federal and State court cases.

Use to find articles from law reviews - which publish lengthy overviews on legal topics and cases. Choose Law Reviews from the Guided Search option.

This full-text collection includes hundreds of American newspapers from all 50 states published between 1690 and 1999 (most coverage is for dates prior to 1924). Papers are presented as full-image PDFs and include news, editorials, advertisements, and more.

This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the daily edition of the Burlington Free Press published from 1848-2007. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. For best search results set parameters to look for search terms "in Anywhere."

This database is a digitized version of the microfilm edition of the Boston Globe (1872-1990). The paper is fully digitized in PDF format and includes news reports, editorials and editorial cartoons, advertisements, reviews, obituaries, and illustrations and photographs.

This resource provides full-page reproductions of one of the most influential African-American newspapers of the 20th century. The paper includes coverage of events and issues such as the Great Migration, the Anti-Lynching Campaign, and the Civil Rights Movement.

This resource provides access to full-text articles published in the Chicago Tribune (1849-1998). The paper is in PDF format and includes news reports, editorials and editorial cartoons, advertisements, reviews, obituaries, and illustrations and photographs.

This resource provides historical access to the Los Angeles Times (1881-1997). Materials are in PDF format and include illustrations, advertisements, and photographs.

This resource provides full-page reproductions of one of the nation's leading Black newspapers. The New York Amsterdam News documented the Harlem Renaissance in the 1920s, desegregation of the U.S. military in World War II, and the Civil Rights Movement in the 1960s. It also provides local, national, and international news coverage.

This database provides historical access to the New York Times (1851-2018). The paper is fully digitized in PDF format and includes news articles, editorials, cartoons, advertisements, and more.

This database provides access to the Washington Post (1877-2006), a leading source for news on foreign events and policy. The paper is in PDF format and includes accompanying illustrations, advertisements, and photographs.

UVM affiliates may use this link to access the registration page for UVM's institutional subscription to the New York Times website. This subscription provides access to news, opinion, the book review, the magazine, Cooking, and more but excludes premium content such as the crossword. You must use your UVM email address to create an account and then go to nytimes.com and login to start reading. (This account will need to be reactivated via a library link periodically). Contact Ask a Librarian for help or more information.

This resource offers access to the full text of local, regional, and national newspapers in the US and throughout the world.

This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.

This resource provides information and full-text access to materials on American and Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present. It references materials published since 1964 and includes journal articles, book reviews, dissertations, and more.

This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary database of the full content of archival issues of scholarly journals. Issues published within the last 3-5 years are generally not covered. It also provides citations to books and pamphlets provided by JSTOR in digital format.