This resource provides access to newspapers by and/or for African Americans. Significant titles include: Freedom's Journal, the first African American newspaper published in the US; Frederick Douglass' Paper; and the Washington Bee. Explore historical events related to the anti-slavery movement, the great migration, the modern civil rights movement, and more. Search or browse the collection to find news articles, letters to the editor, advertisements, images, and editorials.
This full-text resource contains articles from national/regional/international newspapers, magazines, journals, law reviews, and wire services; broadcast transcripts; U.S. federal and state case law, codes, and regulations; company financial reports; patents; and SEC filings.
This database is a digitized version of the microfilm edition of the Boston Globe (1872-1990). The paper is fully digitized in PDF format and includes news reports, editorials and editorial cartoons, advertisements, reviews, obituaries, and illustrations and photographs.
This resource provides access to full-text articles published in the Chicago Tribune (1849-1998). The paper is in PDF format and includes news reports, editorials and editorial cartoons, advertisements, reviews, obituaries, and illustrations and photographs.
This resource provides full-page reproductions of one of the nation's leading Black newspapers. The New York Amsterdam News documented the Harlem Renaissance in the 1920s, desegregation of the U.S. military in World War II, and the Civil Rights Movement in the 1960s. It also provides local, national, and international news coverage.
This database provides access to the Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), a leading source of business news. The paper is in PDF format and includes accompanying illustrations, advertisements, and photographs.
This database provides access to the Washington Post (1877-2006), a leading source for news on foreign events and policy. The paper is in PDF format and includes accompanying illustrations, advertisements, and photographs.
This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the daily edition of the Burlington Free Press published from 1848-2007. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. For best search results set parameters to look for search terms "in Anywhere."
Out in the Mountains was the only LGBT focused newspaper in Vermont from early 1986 to January of 2007 when the last issue was released. The newspaper provided a forum for a diverse LGBT community to stay connected, covered issues facing the community such as violence, isolation and HIV, and discussed policy and organizing efforts to battle discrimination against LGBT people in Vermont and in the United States as a whole.
The Burlington Free Press, The Rutland Daily Herald, The Brattleboro Reformer, The St. Albans Messanger, and The Barre Daily Times are all included. Dates of coverage vary. Access via the Vermont state government MyVermont Portal. In order you access you will have to create an account in their system.
Making an account:
Go to MyVermont.gov and use the form in the middle of the page to make an account.
Next, look for the "Featured Items" box and the link for "NEWSPAPERS.COM (VERMONT TITLES ONLY)."