Geospatial Data & Analysis

Includes tabular data downloads related to fossil fuel emissions, trace gas emissions, atmospheric trace gas & aerosols, oceanic trace gases, carbon cycle, terrestrial carbon management, vegetation response to CO2 & climate, climate, and land-use & ecosystems.

To improve public health and the environment, the EPA collects information about facilities or sites subject to environmental regulation. The EPA Geospatial Data Access Project provides a downloadable files of these facilities or sites in the following formats; extensible markup language (XML) file, keyhole markup language (KML) file, ESRI Shapefile and ESRI Feature Class

Land, ocean, and atmosphere data

The National-Scale Air Toxics Assessment (NATA) is EPA's ongoing comprehensive evaluation of air toxics in the U.S. EPA developed the NATA as a state-of-the-science screening tool for State/Local/Tribal Agencies to prioritize pollutants, emission sources and locations of interest for further study in order to gain a better understanding of risks. They include Emission density maps, data tables, data summaries, and data sources.

Wetland data and reports

Various environmental and conservation datasets are available for the US (hydrology, habitats, ecosystems, etc.)

Comprehensive US Protected Areas Database downloadable in geodatabase format.

Geodata of marine and ocean energy

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy and developed by the National Renewable Energy Laboratory in support of the Open Government Initiative to make energy data transparent, participatory, and collaborative.

Collection of maps by ESRI featuring, electricity, natural gas, petroleum & biofuels, tight oil and Shale gas, coal, and fossil fuels

The Emissions & Generation Resource Integrated Database (eGRID) is a comprehensive source of data on the environmental characteristics of almost all electric power generated in the United States. These environmental characteristics include air emissions for nitrogen oxides, sulfur dioxide, carbon dioxide, methane, and nitrous oxide; emissions rates; net generation; resource mix; and many other attributes.

Search for a variety of energy, environment, and climate related data sets

Global Energy Monitor develops and analyzes data on energy infrastructure, resources, and uses. It provides open access to databases, reports, and interactive tools that allow users to zoom out for summaries and analysis at the regional or global scale, or zoom in for background and details on any element of the system — coal mine, nuclear power plant, wind farm, oil extraction field, or fossil gas pipeline.

The National Coal Resources Data System (NCRDS) began as a cooperative venture between the USGS and State geological agencies in 1975 and focused on the stratigraphy and chemistry of coal.

Created by the U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)

Hub of all NOAA related geodata including: Climate, Ecosystems and Natural Resources, Marine geology, geophysics, and bathymetry

Hurricane GIS data for the US, often going back to 2008.

A variety of weather data in shapefile format for the US.

A geoportal for the US Flood Science center presenting information regarding flooding risk and other related data. Mostly contains data in web service layers and apps rather than shapefile downloads.

Find aerial images from natural hazards, including snowstorms, floods, fires, etc. Choose a disaster from the drop down menu and then enter a date range (optional) and click Search.