"The Africa GeoPortal hosts an extensive collection of readily accessible datasets and maps. These resources include contributions from Esri, as well as data shared by users and organizations with a focus on Africa. By combining this data with your own, you can create a more comprehensive understanding, discover solutions, and improve your decision-making capabilities."
Land cover and agricultural data for 10 nations in East Africa: Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Eritrea, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda
A long-term initiative by USAID to address the issues of deforestation and biodiversity loss in the Congo Basin forest zone. Environmental GIS and remote sensing data along with some population data for Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Nigeria, São Tomé and Príncipe, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zambia
A suite of gridded products describing surface elevation, ice-thickness and the sea floor and subglacial bed elevation of the Antarctic south of 60◦ S.
Quantarctica is a collection of Antarctic geographical datasets which works with the free, open-source software Quantum GIS (download here: www.qgis.org). It currently includes geography, glaciology and geophysics data, and will expand with contributions from the research community.
SCAR promotes free and unrestricted access to Antarctic data and information by promoting open and accessible archiving practices. SCAR aims to be a portal to data repositories of Antarctic scientific data and information
"AODP has 19 partners from 11 economies in Asia. By offering one-stop data access services, Dataportal.asia aims at facilitating and providing advanced features for cross-border open data access to ensure the exploration, exploitation, and re-usability of open data across Asian countries."
"The Socioeconomic High-resolution Rural-Urban Geographic Platform for India (SHRUG) is a geographic platform that facilitates data sharing between researchers working on India. It is an open access repository currently comprising dozens of datasets covering India’s 500,000 villages and 8000 towns using a set of a common geographic identifiers that span 25 years."
European environmental datasets, maps, charts and applications.
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Various data tables, profiles, reports and maps are available
Pacific Island
Over 800 datasets of the Pacific Islands
Australia
Federal Electoral Boundaries data from the Australian Electoral Commission
Data sets related to pollution across Australia.
Data discovery and analysis portal for geoscience data from all of Australia's state, territory and federal governments.
Use the filters on the left side to look for data in a specific format.
New Zealand
Geodata portal for New Zealand maintained by the NZ government
At approximately 1 km resolution (30" X 30"), LandScan is the finest resolution global population distribution data available and represents an ambient population (average over 24 hours).
Free spatial data for countries around the world
The Geographic Names Server is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign place names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names. The database also contains variant spellings (cross-references), which are useful for finding purposes.
OpenStreetMap is a map of the world, created by people like you and free to use under an open license.
**Download data in shapefile format from:http://http://www.geofabrik.de/data/download.html
The Environmental Data Explorer is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 500 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP. Display them on-the-fly as maps, graphs, data tables or download the data in different formats.
Polygons to represent ethnic groups around the world
Natural Earth is a resource for making custom maps. Data include administrative boundaries, parks and protected areas, populated places, hydrology, and bathymetry in vector format. There is also raster data for land cover, shaded relief, ocean water, and drainages with lakes.
CShapes 2.0 maps the borders and capitals of independent states and dependent territories from 1886 to 2019.
SEDAC, the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center, is one of the Distributed Active Archive Centers (DAACs) in the Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) of the U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration. SEDAC focuses on human interactions in the environment.
This set of data includes many layers for the world, such as country boundaries, UTM zones, water, roads, railroads, airports, major cities, topography/bathymetry, and a nighttime view.
GADM is a spatial database of the location of the world's administrative areas (or adminstrative boundaries) for use in GIS and similar software. Administrative areas in this database are countries and lower level subdivisions.
GIS data on Population & poverty, Agriculture, Land cover & land form, Base data, Elevation, Rainfall, Biodiversity & wildlife, Tourism, and Water
The Atlas of Urban Expansion provides the geographic and quantitative dimensions of urban expansion and its key attributes in cities the world over. Includes changes in city boundaries over time and land cover.
Detailed and freely-available population distribution and composition maps for the whole of Central and South America, Africa and Asia.
