Covers the history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, with biographical essays on major authors and topical essays analyzing significant themes, movements, genres, and institutions. NOTE:Enter the term literary theory into the search box on the left of the screen to read a substantial essay outlining individual literary theories.
Print: REF PN 81 .J554 2005
Entries consider: critics & theorists; critical & theoretical schools and movements; critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries & historical periods.
Literary Terms & Theory (Print)
NOTE: The first three titles in this box are shelved in the Howe Reference Collection (main/1st floor) in Row 10. They are non-circulating, but pages may be scanned for free in the library.
Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory by J. A. Cuddon et al
Call Number: REF PN 41 .C83 2013
Dictionary of technical terminology, forms, genres, groups, schools, movements, phrases, motifs, themes, character types, styles, and concepts associated with classical and modern literatures and currently in regular use. New material is focused in areas such as gender studies and queer theory, post-colonial theory, post-structuralism, post-modernism, narrative theory, and cultural studies.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory by Irena R. Makaryk (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN 81 .E43 1993
Provides concise explanations of myriad approaches to literature that have arisen over the past forty years. Organized into three parts. Part I: evaluative essays examine the historical and cultural context out of which new schools of and approaches to literature arose. Part II: Individual Theorists. Analyses the individual achievements and the influence of specific scholars, and places them in a larger critical context. Part III: Vocabulary of literary theory. It identifies significant, complex terms, places them in context, and explains their origins and use.
Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism by Chris Murray (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN 86 .E63 1999 (2 vols)
Entries of varying lengths cover Western and non-Western literary traditions, from the start of criticism with the Greeks through postmodernism. Entries are of four types: on individuals, surveys of literary periods, essays on critical theories, and definitions of key concepts.
Circulating Books - 3rd Floor
Routledge Companion to Critical and Cultural Theory
Call Number: PN 81 .R68 2013
Guide to critical and cultural theory from a diverse range of disciplines through a series of 11 critical essays and a dictionary of key names and terms. Examines complex and fundamental theories in modern scholarship including: Marxism, Trauma Theory, Ecocriticism, Psychoanalysis, Feminism, Posthumanism, Gender and Queer Theory, Structuralism, Narrative, Postcolonialism, Deconstruction, Postmodernism.
Literary theory and criticism : an introduction by Anne H. Stevens
Call Number: PN 86 .S84 2015
This companion includes an introductory chapter providing an overview of some of the major issues within literary theory and criticism. It includes chapters surveying theory and criticism in antiquity, the Middle Ages and Renaissance, the Enlightenment, and the nineteenth century. For 20th- and 21st-century theory, the discussion is subdivided into separate chapters on formalist, historicist, political, and psychoanalytic approaches. The final chapter applies a variety of theoretical concepts and approaches to: William Shakespeare's Hamlet and Mary Shelley's Frankenstein.
Essential Literary Terms by Sharon Hamilton
Call Number: PN 44.5 .H28 2017
Updated with new terms, examples, and exercises, and to reflect the 2016 MLA guidelines, this book defines more than 225 must-know literary terms in clear and concise prose, and offers examples and exercises to enhance understanding. Designed especially for introductory students.