Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Information about UVM & Vermont for Job Applicants

An Introduction to Vermont

Open Data Portal
Search for public data provided by the state.

Vermont Profile - Census Reporter
Dashboard of common demographic information about Vermont.

I Am A Vermonter
A resource for persons of color relocating to Vermont for school, work, or retirement.

Profile of Northwest Vermont from Think!Vermont
Provides stats, information, historical information, and links to real estate resources for Chittenden, Franklin, Grand Isle, & Lamoille counties.

Vermont Town and Cities Data
Provides basic data about each city or town, plus links to local government.

You Be You from Think!Vemront
Highlights justice, equity, diversity, and inclusion efforts in Vermont. Includes links to key resources and tools.

Mobile Wireless Coverage (2020)
Interactive map displays wireless coverage for most major carriers.

Climate Change in Vermont
Evaluation of the impact that climate change is having on Vermont along with planning process to address the issue.

Vermont Crime Statistics
Provides summary of crime statistics. For more information see the Crime Data Explorer.

Local Media

Burlington Free Press
Print and digital newspaper owned and operated by Gannett.

VTDigger
Independent online news site. Covers all of Vermont. New reporting daily.

Seven Days
Vermont's independent alternative weekly newspaper. Published in print and online.

The Vermont Cynic
The University of Vermont's student run newspaper. Published online weekly.

VPR News
VPR is the Vermont National Public Radio affiliate. They run their own news operation that covers state and regional news.

Community Organizations

Black Lives Matter of Greater Vermont
Black Lives Matter of Greater Burlington (BLMGB) is an unofficial chapter of the national and global #BlackLivesMatter movement. Greater Burlington is loosely defined as north to Milton, east to Jericho, south to Richmond, and west to Burlington.

Justice for All VT
JFA's mission is to dismantle systemic racism, eliminate poverty and ensure racial equity through advocacy, education, and relationship-building.

Pride Center of Vermont
Pride Center of Vermont (PCVT) is the region’s most comprehensive community center dedicated to advancing community and the health and safety of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ+) Vermonters.

Vermont Racial Justice Alliance
The Vermont Racial Justice Alliance is under the leadership of a people-of-color led Steering Committee and assisted by a network of individuals and organizations across Vermont.

Kids

Vermont STARS for Brighter Child Care Decisions
Includes database of childcare providers.

KidsVT - loads of information for parents, prospective parents, and kids.

Getting Around (Transportation)

Go!Vermont - Getting Around
Provides information about bus routes, ride-sharing, biking, ferries, and trains including schedules, fees, etc.