REL 234/202: Buddhism in Sri Lanka - Trainor (Fall 2020)

In addition to searching for print books in the Howe Library collection during this challenging semester, here are options  for accessing ebooks or chapters in ebooks:

• While searching the Library Catalog in CATQuest, you may encounter an ebook owned by the library in your list of results. Yay!
  IMPORTANT!! Before you search CATQuest, use EZproxy to log in to the UVM network.  Be sure to sign in to CATQuest before searching. Click the green "Sign in" link at the top right of the CATQuest screen. This will allow you to access the ebook from the library catalog record.
• JSTOR is no longer just a searchable collection of e-journals. It now makes available ebooks from many publishers. While Howe Library doesn't subscribe to the JSTOR ebook collection, you may still search within the collection. In your search results, you may see a book citation with an "open access" note. That means you can access the pdf chapters within the book. Yay! If the book does not provide access to the book chapters, you can request those book chapters through Interlibrary Loan.
• Project Muse, like JSTOR, also provides a searchable collection of ebooks (which Howe Library doesn't subscribe to). Unlike JSTOR, you will have to request all the book chapters through Interlibrary Loan. Note: The challenge for Project Muse is that you won't be able to see where in the book your search terms appear. Use the chapter titles to make your best guess.

STOP!

Use your UVM NetID and password to log in to the UVM network through EZproxy before you begin your research, to access the UVM Libraries' licensed electronic resources.

• AND - narrows a search by combining two or more terms. All terms must be present.  Example: "sri lanka" and theravada and monks 
• OR - broadens a search by combining synonyms or alternative forms of words. Any of the words must be present. Write down any commonly used alternatives to/synonyms for your search terms and connect them with or   Example:  rituals or ceremonies
• Variant Spellings - search for all variant spellings of a term. 
• Phrase Searching - sometimes you may need to enclose a phrase in quotation marks in order to make sure the words are searched as a phrase. Example: "sri lanka"
• Truncation/Wildcard - you can usually use a wildcard character at the end of a word (or its root) to search on a term and its variants all at once. Most databases use the asterisk (*) as the wildcard (aka truncation symbol). Example: monast* will retrieve results for  monastic, monastery, monasteries