When searching for articles using article databases, the full-text article may not be attached to the citation. If not, look for this icon next to the article citation to see if the library owns it and, if so, access it:
See "Find it at UVM" for more details...
AND - narrow your search down by combining two or more terms. All terms must be present.
Example: monks and buddhist and sri lanka
OR - broaden your search by combining synonyms or alternative forms of words. Any of the words must be present. Write down any commonly used alternatives to/synonyms for your search terms and connect them with or
Example: monks or monasticism
NOT - excludes terms from a search; narrows and focuses a search Example: buddhism not mahayana
TRUNCATION (aka wildcard) - symbol used at the end of a word or root word to retrieve variant word endings, including plurals; makes a search more efficient by decreasing the number of searches. example: monast* retrieves: monastery, monasteries, monasticism, monastic
Many (not all) databases use the * as the truncation symbol. Check the online Help in each database to find which symbol is used.
Put the search together. Make your search more efficient by using the "and" "or" connectors in one search.
Example:
When you retrieve articles, you will get the article's citation. This is the information you need to know to find and cite the article. Below is an example of a citation:
Interlibrary Loan
If the library doesn't own a book or article that you need, you may request it from another library via Interlibrary Loan. This service is free for UVM students, faculty, and staff. An article is delivered electronically and usually arrives within a few days. Book requests are generally filled within a week.
If you are making a request for the first time, you will need to register for the service before making a request. View this brief video for instructions on how to register.
Find more details and a link to the request forms. There is also a link ("ILL/DD" green button) on the Library homepage.
Use your UVM NetID and password to log in to the UVM network through EZproxy before you begin your research, to access the UVM Libraries' licensed electronic resources, such as article databases, electronic journals, e-books, and more. Once you're logged in look for "ezproxy.uvm.edu" in the URL of the web page (e.g., http://library.uvm.edu.ezproxy.uvm.edu/) to ensure that you are connected to the UVM network.
NOTE: 
after a database name indicates a licensed library database, restricted to UVM affiliates.
When searching for articles using UVM article databases, the HTML or PDF full-text article may not be attached to the citation. If not, look for this icon:
Use this button to help you:
If the article does not appear or if something confuses you, use 
to determine if the library owns the journal/magazine (print or online) and the issue and year you need.
What If the Library Doesn't Own What I Need?
Obtain the item through Interlibrary Loan.
Click the image to access CATQuest Advanced Search.
The large search box on the library homepage provides access to our "discovery tool"; it is a Google-like academic search engine designed to retrieve lots of content in our library and beyond (books, articles, videos, etc.). Search the Library Catalog (a different search interface from the Classic Library Catalog ) and lots -but not all- of the content in databases subscribed to by the library. It isn’t meant to replace individual database searching, but provides an opportunity to discover the results of searches in many databases and the library catalog in a single search. Sign in (upper-right of screen) to access the most content available. Note: Using a computer off-campus? Connect to the UVM network via EZproxy (recommended) before searching CATQuest.