Background: Religion - REL 234/202: Buddhism in Sri Lanka - Trainor (Fall 2020) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Religion - General

The print books in the page are located in the Reference Collection [main/1st floor], primarily in Row 2. Reference books are non-circulating.

Encyclopedia of Religion
Also in print: REF BL 31 .E46 2005 (15 volumes). One of the most complete and authoritative works on all aspects of religion and traditional belief systems. Search by keyword/s: Type your search term/s (e.g., baptism ) in the box on the right of the screen. Browse by topic: click on the "Table of Contents" button. Then click on the pull-down menu next to "Choose a Volume." Select the volume that might include your subject (e.g., "buddhism"), and then scroll down the page until you see the entry you're looking for.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Essays on specific religions and on religious practices in individual countries. Provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers. Browse by topic: click on the "Table of Contents" button. Then click on the pull-down menu next to "Choose a Volume." Each entry includes: a brief overview, brief history, central doctrines, sacred books, organizational structure, houses of worship and holy places, what is sacred, rituals, rites of passage, etc. Search by keyword/s: Type your search term/s (e.g., theravada ) in the box on the right of the screen. Select volume 4 to read the essay on religion in Sri Lanka.

Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals
Call Number: REF BL 31 .E47 2004
Encyclopedia of Monasticism
Call Number: REF BL 631 .E59 2000 (2 vols)
Covers monastic life with particular attention to three traditions: Buddhist, Eastern Christian, and Western Christian.

Art & Iconography*

*Iconography: study of the representation of otherwise unseen realities through coded means: such realities may include anything from God or gods to ideas;...Since religions have differing attitudes to the representation of the holy or the divine, each religion has a different iconographical style and content. (Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions)

Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography : themes depicted in works of art
Call Number: REF N 7560 .E53 1998 (2 vols) [ROW 8]
Dictionary of Buddhist and Hindu Iconography, illustrated : objects, devices, concepts, rites, and related terms
Call Number: REF N 8193 .A4 B86 1997 [ROW 8]
Encyclopaedia of Buddhist Deities, Demigods, Godlings, Saints and Demons with Special Focus on Iconographic Attributes
Call Number: REF BQ 130 .B88 1994 (2 vols)
Iconographic Dictionary of the Indian Religions: Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism
Call Number: REF DS 503 .S77 vol. 5 [ROW 4]

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
This resource comprises the full text of the Grove Dictionary of Art and a number of other reference works published by Oxford University Press, including the Oxford Companion to Western Art.

Buddhism - Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Buddhism
[Robert E. Buswell, Jr., editor in chief. Pub. Macmillan/Gale] Describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its history, different schools and sects. Also contains entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies. Search by keyword/s: Type your search term/s (e.g., meditation ) in the box on the right of the screen. Browse by topic: click on the "Table of Contents" button. Then click on the pull-down menu next to "Choose a Volume." Select the volume that might include your subject (e.g., "sangha"), and then scroll down the page until you see the entry you're looking for.

Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Damien Keown, Charles S. Prebish (eds.)
Call Number: REF BQ 128 .E53 2007
[Routledge Pub] Authoritative encyclopedia presents an overview of Buddhist history, thought and practices, reflecting the current state of scholarship in Buddhist Studies. Has somewhat different coverage than the title above, edited by Buswell.
Encyclopaedia of Buddhism
Call Number: REF BL 1403 .E5 (8 vols)
This encyclopedia traces the development of Buddhism, written mostly by Sri Lankan scholars with very good coverage of Buddhist textual sources, especially those in Pali.

Theravāda Buddhism
by Sven Bretfeld
Essay from Oxford Research Encyclopedia - Religion. 44 pp.
Theravada Buddhist Societies
by: Donald K. Swearer
Book Chapter from The Oxford Handbook of Global Religions. 8 pp.

Buddhism - Handbooks

Both books are on the 2nd floor of the Howe Library and may be checked out from the library. Even better, use the Document Delivery Service to request a (free!) scan of the chapter/s you need.

Oxford Handbook of Buddhist Ethics
Call Number: BJ 1289 .O94 2018 (2nd floor)
click the hyperlinked title to view the book chapters.
Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Buddhism
Call Number: BQ 4055 .O94 2017 (2nd floor)
click the hyperlinked title to view the book chapters.

Contemporary Sri Lankan Buddhist Traditions
by Mahinda Deegalle
book chapter from The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Buddhism. 24 pp.