Authors - ENGL 1010: Danger of a Single Story - Turner (Spring 2024) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Sources for Finding Biographical Information on Authors

Many authors have personal websites or biographical information on their publishers' websites. In addition to these, try:

Something About the Author
SATA will provide you with: personal information about the author, a list of the author's works, a "sidelights" section that provides an overview of the author's career, and a very good listing of other biographical and critical works. When you read an entry, note that you can enlarge the text at top right. Further help is available here: https://uvm.libapps.com/libguides/admin_c.php?g=912073&p=6569759
Biography in Context
Collection of electronic versions of many major print biography Reference Books, with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers. Search for full-text information on people - both current and historic from all eras and fields of endeavor.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This database contains biographical profiles of significant writers worldwide from all eras and literary genres. It also includes full-length or excerpted literary criticism articles and book reviews from scholarly journals and magazines, book chapters, and reference books. It also includes overviews of literary topics and work overviews (plots, themes, characters).

The Horn Book - Authors & Illustrators
Authors & Illustrators, Bios and links (Scholastic)
This website from Scholastic Publishing has a section for very brief overviews of authors and a section of author interviews.

To find text or video interviews with children's authors, try these Google (live link!) searches:

"author name" interview
example: "ruth behar" interview
"author name" conversation
example: "ruth behar" conversation

If you decide to use Google to find supplemental biographical information on an author, look for author websites, awards websites, foundation websites (e.g., MacArthur Foundation), a magazine or journal website, or a website from a university or college. You are a scholar in college now, so DO NOT use Wikipedia, websites that are fan pages, or pages created by students for a project.