Skip to Main Content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

ENGS 100A: Literary Theory & Criticism - Turner (Spring 2021)

Before You Search

When searching for articles using article databases, the full-text article may not be attached to the citation. If not, look for this icon next to the article citation to see if the library owns it and, if so, access it:
 
See "Find it at UVM" for more details...

When you retrieve articles, you will get the article's citation. This is the information you need to know to find and cite the article. Below is an example of a citation:

Use a truncation or wildcard symbol at the end of a word or root word to retrieve variant word endings, including plurals.
It makes a search more efficient by decreasing the number of searches while retrieving more results. Most databases use * as the truncation symbol.
Examples: feminis* retrieves: feminism, feminist, feminists
                  racis*  retrieves: racist, racists, racism
                  post-modern*  retrieves post-modern, post-modernist, post-modernists, post-modernism

MLA International Bibliography: When viewing a full citation from the list of search results, click the "Cite" button on the right of the screen and scroll the list to find MLA.  Note: The MLA Handbook is still the final authority.

Interlibrary Loan

If the library doesn't own a book or article that you need, you may request it from another library via Interlibrary Loan. This service is free for UVM students, faculty, and staff. An article is delivered electronically and usually arrives within a few days. Book requests are generally filled within a week.

If you are making a request for the first time, you will need to register for the service before making a request. View a brief video on this page for instructions on how to register.
Find more details and a link to the request forms. There is also a link ("ILL/DD" green button) on the Library homepage.

During the Spring semester, the library is open but with limited hours. Please check the Hours to make sure it's open before making the journey. If you don't need the entire book, but just a book chapter in it, consider requesting it through the Library's Document Delivery Service. This service provides pdf scans of print materials (book chapters and articles) owned by the UVM Libraries. The Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery (aka ILL/DD) page provides more detailed information about this service. Additionally, view a brief video on this page ("Requesting items owned in print through Document Delivery"). NOTE:  You must register for the ILL/DD service first. View a brief video on this page for instructions on how to register.

Curbside Pickup (How to....)

Monday-Friday, 8 am - 10 am, UVM affiliates (students, staff, and faculty) may pick up Howe Library books, books obtained through Interlibrary Loan, and media equipment and DVDs by appointment at a designated area adjacent to the Howe Library front entrance. Howe Library Circulation and Multimedia Services staff will communicate with borrowers via email (or phone) to locate requested materials and coordinate pickup and drop-off times.

Use your UVM NetID and password to log in to the UVM network through EZproxy before you begin your research, to access the UVM Libraries' licensed electronic resources, such as article databases, electronic journals, e-books, and more. Once you're logged in look for "ezproxy.uvm.edu" in the URL of the web page (e.g., http://library.uvm.edu.ezproxy.uvm.edu/) to ensure that you are connected to the UVM network.
NOTE:  UVM affiliates only after a database name indicates a licensed library database, restricted to UVM affiliates.

Key Database for Literary Research

Database "Technical" Tips:
the truncation (aka wildcard) symbol is *   Examples: racis* --> racism, racist, racists / psycho* --> psychoanalytic, psychological, etc.
if necessary, enclose a phrase in quotes, e.g., "as i lay dying"

Search Tips: here are some ways to make your search more comprehensive :

  • When typing in a literary theory, consider whether or not truncation might be useful (e.g., feminis* -> feminism, feminist, feminists)
  • Consider using variant spellings (e.g., post-colonial* or postcolonial*  /    post-modern* or postmodern* )
  • In addition to using the approach, consider including any associated/related words or names of theorists.
    If you need more information on a theory, approach or literary critic, use the books listed in the "Literary Terms & Theory" page.
  • Brainstorm words/phrases that are related to the literary theory that might be present in the citation, and add those to the search.
    Examples: race ---> racism, racial, supremacy, supremacist, slaves, slavery, enslaved
                      ecocriticism --> ecocritical, ecofeminist, ecofeminism, nature, ecology, ecological
                     feminism --> feminist, maternal, mother, motherhood, female, women, woman
                     psychoanalytic --> Lacan, Lacanian, psychological, psychology, Freud

Limit Before the Search (Beneath the search boxes):

Language: English

Publication Date: 1991-2020

Limit After the Search (side bar):

Limit To:
tick the box for "Exclude Dissertations"

Source Types:  Academic Journals and Book Articles

Example

 

 

Find it at UVM

When searching for articles using UVM article databases, the HTML or PDF full-text article may not be attached to the citation. If not, look for this icon:


Use this button to help you:

  1. link directly to the article online, or
  2. link to the journal's homepage, or
  3. determine whether the library has that journal and year in print format, or
  4. link to a search of the Library Catalog to see if we own the journal, or
  5. link to an interlibrary loan form

If the article does not appear or if something confuses you, use     to determine if the library owns the journal/magazine (print or online) and the issue and year you need.

What If the Library Doesn't Own What I Need?

Obtain the item through Interlibrary Loan.

Tags: english