Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

National Consumer Study

This guide provides instructions for creating and interpreting cross-tabulations in National Consumer Study,

What is "National Consumer Study"?

"National Consumer Study" is a powerful database that provides data about demographics, attitudes, lifestyle behaviors, purchases of products and services, brand preferences, and media consumption for U.S. adults 18 and older.

It is useful for researchers in marketing, public communication, public policy, and other social sciences.

Data come from a well-designed, scientific, annual survey of 20,000 people. Howe Library has access to data back to 2007. They can be used to answer such questions as:

  • What types of people make a conscious effort to recycle?
  • Of all adults aged 35-40, what percentage bought dining room furniture in the last year?
  • Of the people that read Time magazine, what percentage are men?

Need Help?

Please stop by the Reference Desk on the main floor of Howe Library

OR

Contact Trina Magi, reference and instruction librarian, to arrange a research consultation. Please see contact information at right. When you call or write, please include several days and times you are available.

How to Use the Database

The interface for this database looks very different than the interfaces for article databases.

It requires you to select variables of interest from a menu of folders and create your own cross-tabulation tables.

The PDF guide below provides step-by-step instructions for using the database and for interpreting the data tables you create.

 

Step-by-Step Instructions

Librarian

Trina Magi's picture
Trina Magi
Contact:
Trina Magi
David W. Howe Memorial Library
University of Vermont
538 Main Street
Burlington, VT 05405

802-656-5723

trina.magi@uvm.edu

Liaison to:
Community Development and Applied Economics Department
and
Grossman School of Business