Baines, R. What Shall We Do With Canada? [London? 1837?]
Urges the British government to grant independence to the Canadas.
Call number: Special Collections Rare Book F1008.3 .B34 1837
Bellingham, Sydney Robert. Some Personal Recollections of the Rebellion of 1837 in Canada. Dublin, 1901.
Memoirs of a Montreal magistrate and cavalry officer who participated in the armed conflict with the rebels at St. Charles.
Call number: Special Collections Rare Book F1032 .B3
David, Laurent Olivier. Les patriotes de 1837-1838. Montreal, 1884.
An important French Canadian study of the rebellion.
Call number: Special Collections Rare Book TR
Durham, John George Lambton. The Report and Despatches of the Earl of Durham, Her Majesty’s High Commissioner and Over-General of British North America. London, 1839.
Lord Durham’s 1839 report recommends uniting Upper and Lower Canada and granting the colony wider powers of self-government.
Call number: Special Collections Rare Book QUARTO F1032 .D95
[Haliburton, Thomas. Chandler] A Reply to the Report of the Earl of Durham, by a Colonist. London, 1839.
A collection of letters to the editor of the London Times critical of Lord Durham’s report.
Call number: Special Collections Rare Book F1032.D986 H34 1823
Papineau, Louis-Joseph. Histoire de l’insurrection du Canada. En refutation du rapport de Lord Durham. Burlington, VT, 1839.
A manifesto on British domination of the French Canadians and the necessity for the Rebellion of 1837-1838.
Call number: Special Collections WILB CLST F1032 .P37 1839
To learn more about this essay, see J.-Andre Senecal's "Notes on Histoire de l'insurrection du Canada," Liber 27 (Autumn 1996). Special Collections Z732.V5 L52
Proulx, Louis. Defense du mandement de Mgr. L’Eveque de Montreal, en date du 24 Octobre, 1837. Montreal, 1837.
A Canadian priest defends the Catholic Church’s opposition to the rebellion.
Call number: Special Collections Rare Book F1032 .P76 1837
Decisive battle attack on St. Charles the Loyalists defeated and dispersed ... Burlington, VT, [1838].
Presents two very different versions of the Battle of St. Charles, one granting victory to the Patriotes and the other to government forces.
Call number: Special Collections WILB Small Broadside F1032 .B926 1838
Stop and think...
Broadside reprints a letter that appeared in the Burlington Sentinel Dec. 29, 1837, castigating leading citizens who are not willing to provide sanctuary to Patriotes seeking sanctuary in Vermont.
Call number: Special Collections WILB F1032 .S76 1838
The following letter was handed to Mr. Stacy for publication and as we find by his paper of to-day, that he has suppressed some parts of it , we republished it, in its original form / [signed] G.W. Benedict, C. Adams, G.P. Marsh.
The signers did not support the Patriote cause.
Call number: Special Collections WILB Small Broadside F1032 .B46 1800z