Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

HCOL 085: The Pursuit of Knowledge (Fall 2017)

Welcome to the Library from "Your" Librarian!

This research guide is designed for two purposes:

  1. to help you complete the assignments that require some library research.
  2. to introduce you to a selected number of carefully-curated licensed online library resources: the Library's online catalog of books and dvds; the Library's discovery tool, CATQuest; several reference works (e.g., encyclopedias, handbooks, companions); some article databases which will help you locate articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers from all over the world.
    Note: the online resources in this guide are drawn from the Research Databases section of the Library's website.

NEED MORE HELP?

Contact me directly via e-mail or telephone to ask a question or to schedule an appointment for a research consultation. I am always happy to work one-on-one with you to help you with your specific research topic. As the library liaison to the Honors College I will help you with your research for any HCOL course as well as your honors thesis.

Searching Off-Campus?

NOTE:  UVM affiliates only after a database name indicates that it is a licensed library database, restricted to UVM affiliates.

Research Roadmap

On the Research Roadmap page, find help with every stage of the research process as well as interactive tutorials to build and strengthen your research skills.

What's in this Guide?

  1. Starting Points: Background Information: Familiarize yourself with a topic by using these encyclopedia and dictionary/handbook collections; individual subject encyclopedias; biography sources.
  2. Books: Library Catalog part of CATQuest. Guidance on searching the catalog for books in the library. Information on checking out and renewing books.
  3. Articles: databases for locating articles in scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. 3A. Sub-tab "Find the Article": sample citation unpacked; how to obtain an article when it's not full-text in the database.
  4. Cite & Write: Style, writing, and citation guides (e.g., MLA, APA, Chicago style, English-language dictionaries, grammar, etc.).
  5. Evaluate Sources: guides, charts and videos to help you evaluate your sources for usefulness, credibility, and quality.
  6. Call Numbers & Subject Headings: directions on how to find print books in the Bailey/Howe Library main circulating collection (2nd and 3rd floors).

Liaison Librarian

Patricia Mardeusz's picture
Patricia Mardeusz
Contact:
Information & Instruction Services
Bailey/Howe Library
Room 049 (ground floor)
University of Vermont
patricia.mardeusz@uvm.edu
802-656-5718