Dictionaries in the Reference CollectionOnline Dictionaries
General Works (in English)General Works (in German)Indexes & Bibliographies
Biography & HistoryClassics & AntiquityFolkloreGeneral WorksLawMusicArt and Art HistoryReligion & Philosophy
This is the "Home" page of the "German Language & Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

German Language & Literature  

This guide is an introduction to some of the major reference works and databases of scholarly research in the field of German language and literature.
Last Updated: Apr 3, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.uvm.edu/germ_russ Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Das Deutsche Woerterbuch (Jacob & Wilhelm Grimm)

Deutsches Wörterbuch von Jacob Grimm und Wilhelm Grimm (DWB)(courtesy of the University of Trier)

Click on the phrase Online-Wörterbuch aufschlagen to get started.  In the main search box, typing the initial letters of the word you are researching will display an alphabetical list of words. Each definition has a permanent URL and is available in a .pdf format for easy printing.

Vorworte. This tab displays a list of volume numbers and their corresponding forewords.

Entstehungszeit des DWB.  This tab displays a chart, written in German, that chronicles the important events of each year that the Bros. Grimm worked on the dictionary, as well as subsequent years of editing.

 

Featured Books

To find these and other books, locate the Library Catalog on the UVM Libraries home page.

Try a Quick Search in the Library Catalog, or a Guided Keyword Search.

Cover Art
Imagining the Age of Goethe in German Literature, 1970-2010
Call Number: PT747.H5 P59 2011 (3rd Floor)
ISBN: 1571135170
A study of modern German-language authors and their view of Johann Wolfgang Goethe and the gilded literary period that bears his name.

Landmarks in German Short Prose - Ed. Peter Hutchinson
Call Number: PT747.S6 L36 2003 (3rd Floor)
Publication Date: 2003
One of seven books in a series of essays on Landmarks of German literature, written by British and Irish scholars. This volume has 12 essays on the novella by authors ranging from Kleist to Martin Walser. (A keyword search of Landmarks German will retrieve other titles in the series.)

The Cambridge history of German literature
Call Number: PT91 .C36 2000 (3rd Floor)
Nine essays cover the major periods of German Literature, from its beginning to 1990. Includes a select bibliography (76 pp.) and an index.

 

Guten Tag!

This guide describes a number of resources designed to aid your research in German language and literature. You'll find excellent scholarly sources in German, English, and other languages. Please contact me if you have any questions (see contact info on the right). The following is a brief sketch of the types of materials available in different floors and departments of the library.


Ground Floor

Special Collections: Rare books; misc. items from Nazi Germany.

Media Collections: German films on DVD and videocassette; operas and choral works on DVD, CD, and LP.

First Floor

Reference: See tabs above.

Second Floor

Periodicals: German-language publications in alphabetical order by title. Many periodicals are available online or on microfilm. Check the library catalog.

Books: Beginning of the book collection. Call number letters A-F 1699.

Third Floor

Books: Continuation of book collection. Call numbers F1700-ZA.

  • German Language:  PF3001 - PF5999
  • German Literature:  PT1 - PT1479

 

 

Major Works

Liaison Librarian

Profile Image
James Barickman
Contact Info
Bailey/Howe Library, Rm 122C
(802) 656-5747
Send Email
 

Biography

I have degrees in German Literature (M.A.) and Music Performance (B.A.), both from UVM, and am ready to assist you with research topics in one or both of these areas, and others as well!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip