Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

ENGS 005C: Food & Writing - Miles (Fall 2017)

Welcome to the Library!

This research guide is designed to help you conduct successful research for this course.

NEED MORE HELP?

Contact me directly via e-mail or telephone to ask a question or to schedule an appointment for a research consultation. I am always happy to work one-on-one with you to help you with your specific research topic.

What's In This Guide?

  1. Cookbooks: Library Catalog part of CATQuest. Guidance on searching the catalog for cookbooks in the library. Information on checking out and renewing books.
  2. Cultural & Historical Resources:  Individual subject encyclopedias and companions about U.S. history, ethnic groups, immigrants, and countries worldwide; cross-searchable encyclopedia/companion collections.
  3. Food & Nutrition Resources: Individual subject encyclopedias and companions about all aspects of food and nutrition; cross-searchable encyclopedia/companion collections.
  4. Tutorials: Selected list of interactive library research tutorials.
  5. Keyword Searching: Help with developing keywords for a topic, using variant spellings and synonyms, creating a keyword search.
  6. Books: Library Catalog part of CATQuest. Guidance on searching the catalog for books in the library. Information on checking out and renewing books.
  7. Call Numbers & Subject Headings: Directions on how to find print books in the Bailey/Howe Library main circulating collection (2nd and 3rd floors).
  8. Articles: Multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases for locating articles in scholarly journals and magazines.
  9. Substantive Magazines & Newspapers: Selected list of substantive magazines and newspapers; how to find articles in them.
  10. Evaluate Sources: Guides, charts and videos to help you evaluate your sources for usefulness, credibility, and quality.
  11. Cite Sources: Style and citation guides: Associated Press, New York Times, Chicago, APA.

Liaison Librarian

Patricia Mardeusz's picture
Patricia Mardeusz
Contact:
Information & Instruction Services
Bailey/Howe Library
Room 049 (ground floor)
University of Vermont
patricia.mardeusz@uvm.edu
802-656-5718

Searching Off-Campus?