The tutorials and guides listed below are required course work for all sections of ENGS 1. Each class will complete the guides and tutorials listed but the dates will vary for each section. Talk with your instructor for more details.
This page describes a strategy for generating keywords before you start to search and provides links to recommended sources for locating background information on a topic. It also includes a link to the Keyword Brainstorming Table which you should print out and complete.
Selecting the right search tool for your research needs is an important part of the research process. This quick guide will help you understand why library databases are essential and the kinds of information you can expect to find with them.
This guide introduces you to the to the wide range range of research materials you will encounter at UVM. It provides you with a method for evaluating information that will help you plan your research and analyze the sources you find.
Learn how to use this multi-disciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature, magazine articles, and some newspaper articles. Includes a quiz that will assess what you have learned.
A lot of information is published as articles, but there are different types. This tutorial guides you through a closer examination of the different kinds of articles you will find in your research, with special attention to the role of scholarly articles. Includes a quiz that will assess what you have learned.
CATQuest is a tool that searches much of UVM Libraries' physical and digital collections. It can be used to find books, articles, videos, and more. This guide will introduce you to some of CATQuest's many features and help you find exactly what you need.