German Language & Literature

(New German Biography) Full-length biographical essays with bibliographies on significant Germans from the earliest times to the present (ca. 18pp. alone for Charlemagne). Most recent volume covers last names Mel-Mol. Includes the infamous (Hitler, Himmler, Mengele) as well as the famous.

(Great Germans: German Biography) Chapter length narratives beholden to the concept of greatness. Complete in 5 volumes, the work chronicles Great Germans, mostly male, in roughly chronological order, from Bonifatius (7th-8th c.) to Bert Brecht. Includes many b/w and full-color photos and document facsimiles, but no bibliography. Volume 5 has an index, a list of authors, and a chronological list of "greats."

(Basic Historical Concepts: Historical Dictionary of Socio-Political Language in Germany) Chapter length overviews of the history and philosophy of political ideas, concepts, and perspectives, e.g. nobility, autocracy, antisemitism, and terror and terrorism. Multilingual index provides references to both German and non-German terms.

(Encyclopedia of Germanic Antiquity) 35 volumes of alphabetically arranged entries covering archaeology, biography, geography, history, government, religion, arts, literature and speech of the Germanic regions of Europe, from the earliest periods to the late Middle Ages. Vols. 1 & 2 are detailed indexes to the entire set.

(Handbook of German History) 4 volumes covering Germany and Austria from the beginnings to ca. 1950. 613 sections of densely written narrative describe major events, persons, and movements. Each section has a detailed bibliography, and there are numerous tables, family trees, and other statistical sources.

(Dictionary of the Third Reich) One volume reference work with brief alphabetical entries on all aspects of Hitler's Germany: the growth of fascism following World War I; Hitler's diplomatic and military campaigns leading to World War II; important political, military, and cultural figures; the persecution of the Jews and other Reich "enemies"; propaganda campaigns; and the end of World War II.