This is the "Overview" page of the "Artists' Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Artists' Books  

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2013 URL: http://researchguides.uvm.edu/content.php?pid=131289 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Recent Acquisitions

 

Al-Mutanabbi Street. Mary McCarthy and Shirley Veenema. More...

 

Descendant. Jennifer Brook, Tree House Press. More...

 

Collection Overview

Special Collections at the University of Vermont has assembled a large collection of artists' books.  Although artists' books might be simply defined as works of art that use the book as a theme and/or format, by their very nature they defy easy definition.  As Johanna Drucker points out in The Century of Artists' Books, "Artists' books take every possible form, participate in every possible convention of bookmaking, every possible "ism" of mainstream art and literature, every possible mode of production, every shape, every degree of ephemerality or archival durability....Artists' books are a unique genre...little bound by constraints of medium or form."   

The UVM collection is eclectic, broad, and deep.  It contains different kinds of works by many artists and presses, as well as all or significant portions of the body of work produced by a number of individual artists.  It emphasizes elaborate books made by hand, but also includes fine printing, illustrated books, and some livres d'artistes Vermont book artists are well represented among the North American and British artists in the collection.  The collection also includes works by UVM students and faculty.

Articles about the Collection

Gallagher, Connell. Collecting Artists' Books. Liber 41 (2005): 1-2. 

Johnson, Katherine Quimby. The Illuminated Word: Special Collections Celebrates Artists' Books. Vermont Quarterly 41 (2006):26-31.


Something in My Nature, Milded Beltre

Liaison Librarian

Prudence Doherty
Contact Info
Special Collections
Bailey/Howe Library
802-656-1493
Send Email
 

Announcements

THE PAST AS PRESENT: MAKING ART FROM EPHEMERA
November 8, 2013 at 5:30 pm
Special Collections Reading Room, Bailey/Howe Library

Book artist Maureen Cummins will talk about how her career evolved from digging in dumpsters to being a visiting artist in research archives. She will show slides from book projects based on historical subject matter, such as slave narratives, turn-of-the-century homosexual love letters, the Salem with trials, and the Trinagle Factory Fire.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip