UVM Libraries Research Guides: Film & Television Studies: Starting Points: TV

TV - Encyclopedias, Companions & Guides

Browse the reference collection in Row 10 (call number range PN 1992) for more books about various aspects of television.

Encyclopedia of Television by Museum of Broadcast Communications ; Horace Newcomb, editor. This reference work brings together the latest research and criticism in entries devoted to: Television programs that are notable for their artistic merit or popular appeal, as well as those that have had a particular impact on society, on culture, on a genre, or on television as a medium or industry; Actors, directors, writers, inventors, and other individuals in the television industry who have played a significant role in the history of television; Concepts and issues that discuss a wide range of subjects, including: Cultural, social, and political issues; Genres; Technologies, techniques, and material; Particular networks, stations, media corporations, or production companies, etc.
Call Number: REF PN 1992.18 .E53 2004 (4 vols)
Encyclopedia of 20th Century American Television
Call Number: REF PN 1992.18 .L33 2003
This encyclopedia provides a historical guide to the programs, personalities and practices of network television from its early days to the end of the century. In 1000+ entries, it provide story synopses, biographies, production histories, air dates, and more.

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders.

Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood
Call Number: REF PN 1995.9 .M56 M85 2003
Alphabetically arranged biographical and topical entries cover the treatment and progress of African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Jewish Americans, and Native Americans in motion pictures and television.
International Television & Video Almanac
Call Number: REF PN 1992.15 .I61 2014 Ceased publication with 2014 *1987-2013 (3rd floor)
Contains information on all aspects of the television industry for the current year: viewing and financial statistics, stations and ownership; networks, producers, and programs; entertainment industry biographies; production services; professional and governmental organizations; tv series and movies.
The Complete Directory to Prime Time Network and Cable TV Shows, 1946-Present
Call Number: REF PN 1992.18 .C66 2007
Covers over six thousand shows, with information on each program's broadcasting history, cast, and plot, and includes daily program schedules. Coverage ends in April 2007.
Watching TV : Six Decades of American Television
Call Number: REF PN 1992.5 .U5 C37 2010
Presents every prime-time schedule, season by season, from the fall of 1944-2000s. Brief narrative essays for each season provide context for the season.
Encyclopedia of Television Subjects, Themes and Settings This work traces specific topics from 1925 through the 2005-2006 season. Entries include themes as adolescence, adult film actresses, bars, espionage, gays, immigrants, lawyers, transsexuals and truckers. Each entry displays how television's treatment of subjects has changed over years. Each entry contains series, pilot, special and experimental program information.
Call Number: REF PN 1992.18 .T38 2007
Critical Ideas in Television Studies
Call Number: PN 1992.6 .C677 1999 (3rd floor)
Also, online searchable version found in FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals . From the main page, click "Publications." On the next page, enter critical ideas in the search box, and then you'll be able to search or browse the book.

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
Print: REF P 87.5 .E535 2003 (4 volumes)
The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics Survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts-from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.
Oxford Companion to the American Musical : theatre, film, and television
Print: REF ML 102 .M88 H593 2008

Television Stations

USA Television Directory
Directory of USA Television Stations: Local Television, Cable Channels, Satellite Television and More.
Library of Congress - Television Resources
Links to various network and cable programming providers.

Terms/Concepts/Theory

Television Studies : the key concepts Among those aspects of television studies covered in this comprehensive guide are: theoretical perspectives which have shaped the study of television - Marxism; semiology; feminism concepts which have shaped the study of television - narrative; representation; bias television genres - soap opera; news; science fiction methods used for understanding television - content analysis; audience research relevant social, economic and political phenomena - ownership; social policy.
Call Number: REF PN 1992.5 .T385 2008
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory
Call Number: REF PN 1993.45 .C75 2001
Filmmaker's Dictionary
Call Number: REF PN 1993.45 .S56 2000

Dictionary of Media and Communication
Covers all aspects of interpersonal, mass, and networked communication in over 3500 entries, including digital and mobile media, advertising, journalism, social media, and nonverbal communication