Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

HCOL 085: The Pursuit of Knowledge (Fall 2017)

search for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles using multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases

Article Databases

An index (e.g., article database) will enable you to identify articles published in periodicals and/or newspapers. For the most wide-ranging picture of how your topic was covered in the periodical press, you will want to make use of both multidisciplinary and subject indexes in conjunction with one another.

Search Tip: for these databases, the truncation (aka wildcard) symbol is  *

Find it at UVM

When searching for articles using UVM article databases, watch for this icon:

Use this button to help you:

  1. link directly to the article, or
  2. link to the journal's homepage, or
  3. determine whether the library has that journal and year in print format, or
  4. link to a search of the Library Catalog to see if we own the journal, or
  5. link to an interlibrary loan (ILL) form

Journals (online and print)

Journal Titles provided by UVM Libraries UVM affiliates only
Use this list to determine what journals the library owns in online and/or print format, as well as the date coverage for each.

Tip!

The Library does Not own every journal-or book-accessed through these databases. Use  Interlibrary Loan (free!) to request books, and copies of articles or book chapters needed.

Multidisciplinary Article Databases (selected)

Newspaper Articles (Full-Text)

Subject-Specific Article Databases

To find additional subject-specific article databases and many important electronic sources, go to Research Databases. Use the pull-down "All Subjects" list and select the subject you need. Here are just a few of the article databases you will see in the subject list:

CATQuest (Discovery Tool)

The large search box on the library homepage provides access to our "discovery tool";  it is a Google-like academic search engine designed to retrieve lots of content in our library and beyond (books, articles, videos, etc.). Search the Library Catalog (the Classic Library Catalog but different search interface) and lots -but not all- of the content in databases subscribed to by the library. It isn’t meant to replace individual database searching, but provides an opportunity to discover the results of searches in many databases and the library catalog in a single search.  Sign in (upper-right of screen) to access the most content available. Note:  Using a computer off-campus? Connect to the UVM network via ezproxy or VPN client (recommended) before searching CATQuest.