Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

ENGS 005D: Writers at Work - Harrington (Fall 2017)

multidisciplinary databases for finding articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers

Article Databases

An index (e.g., article database) will enable you to identify articles published in periodicals and/or newspapers. For the most wide-ranging picture of how your topic was covered in the periodical press, you will want to make use of both multidisciplinary and subject indexes in conjunction with one another.

Search Tip: for these databases, the truncation (aka wildcard) symbol is *

Find it at UVM

When searching for articles using UVM article databases, watch for this icon:

Use this button to help you:

  1. link directly to the article, or
  2. link to the journal's homepage, or
  3. determine whether the library has that journal and year in print format, or
  4. link to a search of the Library Catalog to see if we own the journal, or
  5. link to an interlibrary loan (ILL) form

Tip!

The Library does Not own every journal-or book-accessed through these databases. Use  Interlibrary Loan (free!) to request books, and copies of articles or book chapters needed.

Multidisciplinary Article Databases

Subject-Specific Article Databases

To find subject-specific article databases and many important electronic sources, go to Research Databases. Use the pull-down "All Subjects" list and select the subject you need. After selecting your subject, in the "All Info Types" menu, select article databases.