This audio resource offers listeners access to a wide variety of recorded music and spoken word, including folk songs and world music, poetry, historic events, lectures and language instruction, and music for dance.
This resource provides images of artwork and cultural artifacts of a wide variety of types, including paintings, sculpture, photographs, prints, furniture, textiles, documentary photographs, and crafts. The collection can be searched by creator, time period, type of work or by region of origin.
This resource provides access to a collection of ethnographic films with broad geographical and cultural coverage. It includes some of the most seminal ethnographic films ever produced, and includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
This resource is a platform for streaming video, including feature films and documentaries from around the world. Faculty note: please contact Multimedia Services if you need Kanopy videos for teaching, as access varies over time.
This resource provides streaming video access to documentary films, including award-winning productions. It allows users to isolate and annotate clips for scholarly projects and provides full transcripts. It can be browsed by topics, places, or director/producer; or searched by keyword or phrase.
You can always use the CATQuest version of the Library Catalog to search for streaming videos and those on dvd. Example:
Sounds & Moving Images - Freely Available on the Internet
In addition to YouTube and Google Videos, here are some other sources for recordings available through the free Internet.
from the web site: "Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds." NOTE: some recordings are unavailable outside the UK. Search in the category "World & Traditional Music."
Images - Freely Available on the Internet
In addition to Google Images, here are some other sources for images available through the free Internet.
Freely accessible database for information on musical instruments held in public collections. Now contains the records of 55984 instruments. Began as a consortium of some of Europe’s most important musical instruments museums, which came together for a European Commission funded project that aimed to create a single online access point to their collections.
Provides free and open access to 700,000+ images (some public domain) digitized from the The New York Public Library's collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more. Search by keyword or Browse by Collection.