Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

REL 095A: Altars of Black Atlantic - Brennan (Fall 2017)

Welcome to the Library!

This research guide is designed to support your research on the history, cultural context, and conceptual implications of one of the objects in the "Spirited Things" exhibition. See detailed guidelines for the Object Analysis assignment on the Class Blog.

The objects may be found on the Sacred Arts of the Black Atlantic (SABA) website:  You will need to locate photographs and other multimedia to support your analysis. You can find some photos on the SABA website, but should also find additional photos to support your analysis.

NEED MORE HELP?

Contact me directly via e-mail or telephone to ask a question or to schedule an appointment for a research consultation. I am always happy to work one-on-one with you to help you with your specific research topic.

IMPORTANT SEARCH TIPS!

- When you are searching, be mindful of variant spellings, and include them in your search, e.g., vodou or voudou or vodun or voodoo
- When you are searching, think about different search terms that address the idea and use them in your search, e.g., rites or rituals.   sacred or religious
- Use the  * truncation symbol in your keyword search to retrieve variant endings - including plurals, e.g., ritual*   religio*  cuba*

What's In This Guide?

  1. Starting Points: Familiarize yourself with a topic by using these encyclopedia and dictionary/handbook collections; individual subject encyclopedias.
  2. Journal Articles: Databases (multidisciplinary and subject-specific) for locating articles in scholarly journals and magazines.
  3. Find the Article: Sample citation unpacked; how to obtain an article when it's not full-text in the database.
  4. Books: Library Catalog part of CATQuest. Guidance on searching the catalog for books in the library. Information on checking out and renewing books.
  5. Call Numbers & Subject Headings: Directions on how to find books in the Bailey/Howe Library main circulating collection (2nd and 3rd floors).
  6. Visual & Sound Collections: Licensed library databases and free Internet sources for sounds, images, and videos.
  7. Cite & Write: Style, writing, and citation guides (e.g., Chicago style, English-language dictionaries, grammar, etc.).

Searching Off-Campus?

Liaison Librarian

Patricia Mardeusz's picture
Patricia Mardeusz
Contact:
Information & Instruction Services
Bailey/Howe Library
Room 049 (ground floor)
University of Vermont
patricia.mardeusz@uvm.edu
802-656-5718